Hello World!

Wow! It has been a while since I’ve been on here. I almost forgot how this thing works. ūüôā Just kidding, but seriously, it’s been a while.

What have I been doing? What haven’t I been doing? It was a full and busy summer, filled with a trip to visit family, Vacation Bible School, gardening, canning, preparing for a new adventure for our family, more canning…well, you get the picture. It was probably a lot like your summer. All I know is it went by way too fast! ¬†I won’t bore you with ALL of the pics from our trip to visit family, but here are a few of the highlights…

IMG_7073

 

We had a delightful tea party with Nana & PawPaw, where everyone had to wear either a beautiful hat, or a tie…

IMG_7052

We went to a Texas Rangers baseball game with Grandma & Poppa…

IMG_7130

IMG_7131

The group, Acapella, was singing the National Anthem while we were there, so Brayden got to meet them!

IMG_7116

I got to meet up with some girlfriends from high school…I hadn’t seen these lovely ladies in about 10+ years. ¬†Two of us live out of state, yet we somehow ended up within about 20 miles of each other at the same time!!

IMG_7100

Here we are wrangling our kiddos for a group pic…

IMG_7101

It was a great trip. ¬†When we got home, it was time to do some serious gardening. ¬†My hubby built a greenhouse this year and our “hothouse” tomatoes were in full swing. ¬†The garden has done great this year, which means I’ve been canning since about July! ¬†We done green beans, tomato soup (I literally canned enough soup to have one jar/week for a year!), tomato juice, pizza sauce, salsa, pickles, jalape√Īo jelly, jalape√Īo relish, banana peppers, grape jelly, grape juice…that might be it. ¬†All I know is that I’m out of jars and out of room! ¬†What we didn’t can, we froze. ¬†I have a freezer full of zucchini, yellow squash puree ready for squash pie, corn and okra.

Perhaps even bigger than our canning, was our decision to homeschool. ¬†We’ve been talking about doing it for a couple of years now, but this is the first year we actually put our talking into action. ¬†It was a huge decision. We have several reasons, but one of the more major ones, was to give my son some one on one time that we thought he would benefit from. ¬†I have never homeschooled before. ¬†I have never been homeschooled before. ¬†The idea of it terrified me (and honestly, it still does a little). ¬†I mean, that’s a HUGE responsibility.

Since neither of us had any experience with it, we decided to go the same route a good friend of mine went last year. ¬†We went through a program called k12.com. ¬†It is an online learning program. ¬†Technically, it’s through the public schools. ¬†They sent us curriculum, books and supplies. ¬†Everyday I log in & the list of subjects is there, ready for us. ¬†Periodically, they have “assessments” to make sure the kiddos are actually learning. ¬†They also have live classes that the kids attend, with a real life teacher. ¬†Brayden has live classes for Math, Reading and Virginia Studies. ¬†Sophie has Math & Reading. ¬†We also stay in close contact with a teacher and will have regular parent/teacher conferences. ¬†They even get to pick ¬†from a long list of field trips to go on!

It was really the best of both worlds. ¬†I have a lot of help at my fingertips. ¬†I don’t feel that the kids will get behind, because there are so many things in place to keep us on track. ¬†If you know me at all, I tend to procrastinate a little a lot most of the time. ¬†Soooo…that was something that concerned me about homeschooling. ¬†However, through the K12 program, you have benchmarks and items that will keep you from getting behind.

I had several people tell me that the nice thing about homeschooling is you don’t really have a schedule. ¬†You work it around you. ¬†Well, I need a schedule. ¬†I need structure. ¬†And, I feel that kids need that too. ¬†Plus, with the crazy schedule we had prior to homeschooling, we really needed structure. ¬†But, I guess that’s the beauty of this system. ¬†What works for me might not work for you, and that’s ok.

I promise to not blow up this blog about homeschooling milestones…like when my daughter learned to write her name or can recite the continents, but I will mention how it’s going from time to time. ¬†So far, so good. ¬†We’ve had some stressful, “I don’t want to do this” days, but I eventually got over it ūüôā

I have been busy with a few crafts and sewing projects here and there. ¬†I have a lot of cake orders coming up in the next few weeks. ¬†Maybe when they’re all over, I’ll do one article with pics of all of them. ¬†They include a wedding cake, a Frozen birthday cake and baby shower cake pops! ¬†I think it’ll be a lot of fun…crazy, but fun!

So, that’s it for now. ¬†Just know that I’m alive.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

