It’s A Southern Thang…

Well, the big winter storm system that has plagued my family with cold temps and several inches of snow in Oklahoma finally reached us here in Virginia.  Did we get the fluffy snowflakes?  No…we got sleet…

Image

Yep…that’s sleet on our deck.  Looks like snow, but as my hubby found out, it’s very slippery.

Because of the weather, we cancelled church services and settled in for a snow sleet day.  Since we had all this time on our hands, I decided to make breakfast (something I rarely do).  On the menu?  Venison gravy & biscuits.

I found both recipes on – wait for it – Pinterest.  This is the recipe for the gravy & you can find the biscuit recipe here.  I have fond memories of biscuits and sausage gravy.  Mainly involving my dad.  Every so often, on a Saturday morning, he would run up to the Braum’s by our house (if you don’t know what Braum’s is…I’m soooo very sorry.  You’re missing out.  Next time you find yourself in Oklahoma, check it out).  He would pick up a  deluxe order for himself & a small order for me.  It was sooooo yummy!!

I made a couple of modifications to the recipes.  First of all, I used venison sausage instead of regular breakfast sausage in the gravy.  It makes me feel a little less guilty in eating it, since the venison is so lean.  For the milk in the gravy, I used skim (again…less guilt) and it turned out just fine.

For the biscuits, I didn’t have any buttermilk…and from the look at our deck, you know I wasn’t going to the store to pick some up.  On occasion, when a recipe calls for buttermilk, I have used regular milk (this time skim) and added a little bit of vinegar to it.  It sours it up a bit and makes it very similar to buttermilk.  Now you know my secret.  

One word on the biscuits.  She says the dough will be very sticky.  She was so right!!!  I don’t know if it’s because I’m at a higher elevation, but in my opinion, I think I could have used another 1/2 to 1 cup of flour in the recipes.  I’m pretty sure I over kneaded the dough because I was trying to keep it from sticking to my counter top.

Once I got the biscuits rolled out & baked, they were delicious.  A little dense (again, from over kneading), but they were very flakey.  I think I might have rolled them a little too thin, so now I know for next time.

The biscuits take a little bit of time to make.  The gravy can be ready in about 15 minutes or so.  No matter how long it took, it was a delicious breakfast…well worth the work & wait!!

So, the next time you find yourself snowed in and a freezer full of venison, try out some sausage gravy & biscuits :).

Leave a Reply

