I Wanna Be Like…

If you haven’t heard about the Miley Cyrus “incident” yet, consider yourself lucky.  I probably would have never found out about it, had it not been for Facebook.  And, thanks to Miss Cyrus, I added a couple of new words to my vocabulary.  You see, I’m a mom, so I’m current on Micky Mouse, but not on MTV music award shows.  I’m not complaining.  I actually prefer it that way.

After the whole twerking debacle, I heard a lot of complaints about her behavior because she is a role model for young girls.  I heard a lot of people commenting that she needs to watch how she acts because our daughters and sons are watching her.  While I agree she needs to watch her actions (as we all do), I don’t think it should be for the sole reason of being a role model.  I question the idea that we, as parents, are relying on celebrities to teach our children appropriate ways to act.  I figure we have two choices.  We can keep waiting for Hollywood to churn out “role models” that we deem acceptable.  Or instead, we can provide our sons and daughters with role models that we are comfortable with them imitating.

So, who do I want my daughter to look up to?  Besides the obvious ones (the women in my family), I have a list and I’ll explain why I chose each of these women:

1.  Hannah.  Here is a woman who wanted a child so badly, that she promised God that if He gave her a son, she would give him back to God…literally.  As a mother of a son, I can’t imagine waiting so long for something, getting it, and then giving it back.  It’s amazing that she actually followed through on her promise.  But what a great mother…she provided for her son in the only way she could, by making him a new cloak every year.

2.  Ruth.  After losing her husband, she left her homeland to follow her mother-in-law.  She left her parents, friends, other family members, everything she knew and was familiar with to go to a country she had never stepped foot in.  It didn’t stop there.  To provide for herself and her mother-in-law, she found a job, collecting the grain that was left behind.  And then, she married the kinsman redeemer, to provide a lineage for her dead husband’s family.

3.  Bathseheba.  Stick with me on this one.  Yes, I know we associate Bathsheba with scandal.   But, too often, we forget “the rest of the story”.  An amazing story of God’s forgiveness and grace.  Bathsheba becomes the mother of Solomon who will become the richest, wisest king of Israel.  This is a lesson I think everyone can relate with.  We sin, we mess up, but it’s not over.  If we repent, God is faithful to forgive us.

4.  Mary.  This one’s a no brainer.  Mother of Jesus.  She must have been a remarkable young woman to have been chosen for this amazing task.  I don’t know how old she was when she had Jesus, but I know she was young.  Teenage years can be terrifying.  I would hope that when my daughter is a teenager, she would have the sweet disposition that I imagine Mary might have had.  

5.  Lois and Eunice.  When I watch Sophie play with baby dolls, I often say “Awww….she’s going to make a great mommy some day!”  Being a mommy is a lot more than feeding and burping and changing diapers.  I hope she cultivates a love for God that Lois and Eunice, mother and grandmother of Timothy did.  I hope she takes every day opportunities to show how God works in our lives.  

I could really go on and on.  The Bible is filled with wonderful role models for our children to look up to.  I believe these stories were placed in the Bible to help us.  To model how to live our lives, to learn from their examples.  To see that living a Godly life can be accomplished. 

Who are your role models?

Leave a Reply

