Pizza Pizza Pizza!!

Well, school’s been back for 2 weeks now.  I don’t know about you, but I’m looking forward to a long weekend!!  Labor Day just screams family time, cookouts and deeply discounted mattresses 🙂

I’ve been on a “homemade” kick.  Not sure why.  I’ve never been the type of girl who makes things from “scratch”.  Why make it from scratch when Betty Crocker makes a perfectly fine cake mix???

However, Pinterest inspires me to make things from scratch.  I figure if these women can do it, why not me?  A while back, I found this pin.  Like most things on Pinterest, I pin them and visit them weeks later.  This is such a pin.

I have to say, pizza is one of my all time favorite foods.  One of my favorite memories of pizza is when my parents would go out on a date.  We would get a babysitter, rent a movie and my mom would put out a frozen pizza for the baby-sitter to put in the oven for us.  I loved it (and not because my parents weren’t around…I know what you’re thinking mom!).  🙂

I have passed this love down to my kids.  It’s scary to see how much pizza my 8 year-old-son can put away.  I think Cici’s Pizza actually loses money on him!

Typically if we eat pizza, we either go somewhere to eat it (like Cici’s or one of our local pizza places) or I buy a frozen one.  I don’t know if you’ve checked lately, but frozen pizzas are getting pricey.  They’re a lot better tasting than they used to be, but pricey!!  Recently, I have been buying the pizza crust in a tube or buying the pre-made, frozen kind.  With all of the fresh veggies we’ve had in our garden, we’ve been able to come up with some yummy varieties.  My hubby loves the bell pepper & jalapeno pepper toppings.

When I saw the recipe for the pizza crust, I figured I’d take it up a notch.  After all, I did successfully make my own, home made crescent rolls the other day!

The recipe itself is very easy to follow & doesn’t have a ton of ingredients, which I love.  The one thing I changed was to use half wheat flour and half regular flour.  In my opinion, it didn’t really make that big of a difference…and I love wheat pizza crust.  If you don’t, just make it with the regular flour.

I’m guessing the blogger had a ton of questions about making the recipe, so she made this page with tips and FAQ’s.  I highly recommend reading this part before you even start making the crust.  If I had, I would have read where she recommends measuring your dry ingredients by weight, rather than volume.  Luckily for me, it didn’t make a huge difference, but I will definitely weigh the flour next time.

One minor problem I had was the crust stuck to the parchment paper after I had baked the pizza.  I used flour and cornmeal on the surface before I rolled the dough out.  I’m not sure if my dough was a little too sticky or if I’m just not a parchment paper kind of gal.  Next time, I think I’ll spray the paper with non-stick spray first.  I don’t think it’ll make a huge difference in the texture of the crust.

The recipe makes 2 large pizzas.  I thought it would be fun to make several smaller pizzas and let everyone make their own personal size.  I cut the dough into fourths and put the toppings on.  I think for small children, you could even cut those in half & it would give you the perfect size personal pizza.

I have visions of making several batches ahead of time (it’s supposed to freeze well) and having friends over for a “make-your-own” pizza party.  I provide the crust, sauce and cheese…you provide your favorite toppings.  Fun, right??

ImageHere’s my hubby’s pizza.  Garden fresh veggies from our garden…Yummy!

So, next time your significant other suggests a pizza night, why not try your hand at making our own crust??  It’s fairly cheap, lots of fun and not as scary as it sounds 🙂

Happy Friday!

One thought on “Pizza Pizza Pizza!!

Leave a Reply

