A Fast Slow Meal

Every so often, I get tired of making the same old stuff, so I peruse Pinterest, in search of yummy, healthy & easy to make recipes.  The other day, I found such a recipe!

I made it last night & it got rave reviews!!  Here’s the link for it.  My hubby & I loved it!!!  I think the kids tolerated it (especially my 3 year old), but I’m calling it a hit, nevertheless 🙂

A couple of things I did:  To make it healthier, I used Weight Watchers reduced fat cream cheese and low fat cream of chicken soup.  Since this was the first time we had it, I don’t know if it was a lot different than if I had used regular cream cheese & soup.  The sauce was still very creamy to me, so I’m guessing it probably didn’t make a huge difference.

Something I would change:  The recipe instructs you to put the cream cheese & soup in the slow cooker for about 30 minutes to let it soften up, then mix it up in the slow cooker before adding the chicken.  I think next time, I will just let the cream cheese soften up at room temperature and mix everything together in a bowl, then add it to the slow cooker.

It’s not much to look at…the chicken mixture is just kind of white.  The chicken is white.  Add that to rice or noodles, and well, not a lot of color.  However, the taste more than makes up for the bland look of the dish.  This will definitely be one I will be keeping around!!

Tonight, I’m going to tackle home made crescent rolls!  I’ll let you know how that goes…unless it goes poorly, then you’ll never hear about it 😉

Leave a Reply

