Diapers Are So Last Week

When it comes to parenting, there are a few things that terrify me.  My son driving.  My daughter dating.  Having “the talk” one of these days.   Luckily, these things are (hopefully) in the distant future.  One horrifying thing high up on the list…potty training.  

I can handle child birth.  I don’t mind getting spit up on.  Late night feeding?  Bring them on…but potty training???  No thank you.

If there was someone who would come to your home, hang out for about a week and potty train your toddler for a price, I think I would gladly pay them.  

So…guess what I’ve been doing this week…

With my son, I started potty training waaayyyy too early.  I think the day he turned 2, I went out and got a potty chair, a bag of pull ups and a package of big boy underwear.  The potty chair was really cool.  It had lights.  It played music.  It even had a sensor in the bottom that knew when my son did his thing & would talk to him!  

Unfortunately, he thought it was just another toy.  Once I saw that, I knew I had made a terrible mistake.  But, I couldn’t take it back…he was having too much fun with it.

Eventually, Brayden got potty trained.  There was a lot of tears, a lot of fits thrown, a lot of drama.  And, Brayden got upset a little too.  At one point, I believe I made the statement to my hubby that I was going to have to send Pampers with him to college.  Like I said, a lot of drama.

Sophie will be 4 years old…2 months from today.  My original goal was to have her potty trained by 3 1/2.  Yeah.  Didn’t happen.  

I’ve read the books.  I’ve looked up tips on websites.  I’ve even looked for ideas on Pinterest.  Maybe if I made the potty chair sparkly…maybe if I bedazzled it, she’d want to use it, right?  

My conclusion??  Kids aren’t going to potty train themselves.  You can wait around until they “let you know that they’re ready”.  Maybe that works for some.  However, people who say that haven’t met my little princess.  She was perfectly happy to go potty in diapers…she actually told me that a couple of weeks ago!  That’s when it hit me.  Enough. It’s time for momma bird to push the baby out of the nest and let her fly.

So, I let her run out of diapers.  That was a scary thing to do.  I had a back up though…pull-ups.  One morning, I got her out of bed & put panties on.  At first, she was like “what are you doing?”  I explained that she was a big girl now & she needed to go potty in the potty chair.  If she felt like she needed to “go”, she needed to tell me.   

To my amazement…it worked!!!  Now, she camped out on the potty chair for 45+ minutes at a time, but at least she was trying.  When we would go out of the house, I decided to put pull-ups on…you know, cause I didn’t want to deal with the mess.  I figured she’d tell me that she needed to go, even with those on.  Nope…I have quickly learned that if she’s wearing panties, she won’t have accidents.  Put the pull-ups on, and we’re back to our diaper days.

I never would have guessed that I could go “cold turkey” with potty training, but it has worked for us so far!  I remember how nervous and stressed I would be when we would go out in public while potty training my son.  Maybe I’ve mellowed a little bit.  Maybe I don’t mind cleaning up a mess if it means I don’t have to buy diapers anymore, but I don’t feel the stress with Sophie.  

We’re finishing up week #1 & we’re far from being 100% potty trained, but I am so excited about the progress she has made.  I feel confident that by the time her birthday rolls around, she will be done with this very important milestone in life.

If you’re a parent, I’m sure you can relate in one way or another with this article.  If you’re can’t, I’m sorry if this was TMI (do people still say that??).  I am just one excited momma who’s diaper buying days are over!!!  

Leave a Reply

