What To Do, What To Do…

It’s not that I have nothing to do.  I have too much to do.  Our congregation’s Vacation Bible School is starting tomorrow.  We’re trying a new approach.  A one day VBS, or as I like to call it “Super Saturday!!!”  (sounds more official and more exciting).  I’m really looking forward to it & since I’m the one taking pics, you can expect to read a blog about it in a few days…that is if I survive 🙂

I love to do lists.  I use them all the time, especially when prepping for vacation.  I love the feeling of being able to mark through something I’ve done.  My hubby puts check marks next to his “done” items.  Whatever your style, there’s something satisfying about finishing a task.

My son, who is 8, seems to have the same love of checking things off that his father & I have.  In the past, I would tell him he needed to do his chores.  Now, I’ve verbally told him what his chores were…multiple times.  So many, in fact, that I feel like the should be imbedded in his brain forever.  Alas, that doesn’t seem to be the case.  And, I just got tired of repeating myself.  I’m sure any mom anywhere can relate.

Then, I happened to stumble upon this pin on Pinterest.  Such a simple idea.  So simple, it’s one of those things that one may “smack my head” or “smh” as I’m told the cool kids say it.

So, I decided to try it.  I went to my local craft store and got the foam door hangers.  They came in a pack of 8, so I have many back ups.  I also found little clothes pins there, but I’m sure you can find those anywhere.

I wrote up some chores that my son has to do everyday.  I let him decorate it (he ended up decorating just the back of it) and hung it on his door.

Image

Image

I have to say, the results have been astounding.  On Tuesday, I “helped” Brayden clean his room.  After doing most of the work, I told him that if he picked up everyday, it would be faster and easier to clean his room, and we probably wouldn’t have to work so hard in his room later (seriously, it was a pit!).

Today, his room is still as clean as it was on Tuesday.  He is making his bed, without me reminding him (which hardly ever, rarely, NEVER happened before!)  He even put up clean clothes that I had folded (without me telling him to)…and if you notice, it’s not even on his list!

Now, I can’t say how long this will last, but I hope it lasts for a loonnngg time.  I hope the things on the list start becoming more of a habit.  Next up, I’ll work on one for Sophie…still have 7 door hangers left 🙂

Have a wonderful weekend!!!

One thought on “What To Do, What To Do…

Leave a Reply

