Beware Of The Zombies!!!!

Tonight, I found myself in a quiet house by 9:00 p.m.  My hubby & son had gotten up super early this morning for the last hunt of spring turkey season.  Unfortunately for them, it rained on and off all morning long, so they were unsuccessful.  However, I have learned that nothing helps an 8 year old sleep better than getting him up at 5 a.m.!  He was out less than 15 minutes after going to bed.

Well, for a bit, I read on my Kindle and then turned on the TV.  I was pursuing the channels when I found a new “documentary” called “Surviving Zombies”.   Immediately following it is another show called “Zombie Preppers”.  Each show’s premise is basically people building shelters or bunkers to prepare for the Zombie Apocalypse.  

Now, I find it very hard to believe that there is not one, but two shows where people, seemingly serious, are preparing for this.  I posted something about this on my Facebook status and had several responses…mainly agreeing with my point of view or “liking” my statement.

Then, I started thinking…how can people believe in the zombie apocalypse??  First of all, how do they believe in zombies in the first place?  To my knowledge, there has been no documented proof that they even exist.  Then, I thought…how can some people NOT believe in God or the Bible, when we have lots of proof that both exist and are true.  

I know some wonder how you can prove God’s existence.  You can’t see Him.  You can’t hear Him.  You can’t experience Him.  He’s not tangible.  Well, I have to disagree with those statements.  I see Him every day.  I see Him in the morning when I look at my children.  I see Him on the way to taking my son to school in the beautiful Blue Ridge mountains.  I hear Him when my son prays at night.  I experience Him when I see Him working in my life.  All you have to do is look around you.  God is everywhere.  

Then, I wondered…people who build these bunkers are putting a lot of time, effort and money into preparing for something that is never going to happen.   What effort are we putting into preparing ourselves for Jesus’ second coming?  We know this is going to happen someday, because we were told it would.  

“My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you?  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”  John 14:2-3.  

“But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.  Be on guard!  Be alert!  You do now know when that time will come.”  Mark 13:32-33.

I may find it ridiculous that people buy into the idea of zombies or the zombie apocalypse, but  what does it say about me when I don’t take Jesus’ second coming as seriously as I should…because I KNOW it will happen.  No second guessing…no theory…no fairy tale belief here.  It WILL happen

So, instead of being a Zombie Prepper or Domesday Prepper, we should focus on being Jesus Preppers.  Focus on those things that really matter.  Help your friends, family, co-workers, neighbors become Preppers of the truth!! 

Leave a Reply

