Happy (Late) Mother’s Day

Hello all!!  I have really been slacking on the blog side of things lately.  I have a couple of excuses reasons.  First of all, I’ve been pretty busy with cakes…mainly baby shower cakes.  We have several ladies at the church who are expecting (which is very exciting) and we’ve had baby showers almost every week.  Here’s my latest cake:

ImageIt’s been interesting.  I’ve made a monkey cake, a jungle cake and now an elephant cake. I haven’t looked at baby stuff in a while, but I’m guess jungle/safari nurseries are pretty popular right now.

So, I want to wish all mothers out there a happy belated Mother’s Day.  On my side, I had a wonderful one. My family took me out to eat & then we went to Sweet Frog for some yogurt (Yum-O!!).  Then, we came home and just relaxed.  The day before, our local Chick-fil-a had a Mother/Daughter Tea.

Image

ImageWe had a lot of fun.  They served us a lovely breakfast (can you believe I have never had a chicken biscuit?  Where have they been all my life??)  Then, we got to paint a flower pot.  A lot of my friends have little boys, but we were able to sit with some good friends, Becca and Eva…

ImageSo, all in all, it was a wonderful weekend!!!

I’ve been very excited to share my latest project with you, but since they were gifts to 3 special ladies in my life, and since I was a slacker and didn’t mail them until Monday…I’ve had to wait.

A few weeks ago, I found a cute little blog site called Crazy Little Projects.  This is where I got the tutorial on making hooded towels.  Well, the more I looked at her blog, the more I liked it!!  So, I started following her.  A little bit before Mother’s Day, she wrote an article with about 25 sewing projects for mom.  This is where I found this project.

My parents are going to be visiting us this summer and we are going to the beach, so I thought this would be perfect for their trip.  I wanted to find some fun, beachy fabric.  I didn’t find something “beachy”, but I did find a nautical print that I fell in love with.  This is what I ended up with:

Image

It is reversible…although when I picked it out to make, I didn’t really realize it 🙂

Image

This is the reversed (inside) part of the bag.  The items to the left are the car seat coolers I made for my niece and nephew…see “Cool Your Jets” for that tutorial.

mom bag

 

Here’s my lovely mother modeling hers after she got it in the mail yesterday.  I’ll probably get in trouble for this one…lol 🙂

After I figured out what I was doing, it only took about 1 – 1 1/2 hours to make.  The tutorial calls for 1 yard of each fabric.  I bought wide fabric and was able to get all 3 bags made out of 1 yard of fabric…Yay!!

This was a really fun project to make.  I will probably be making one for myself in the near future…when I get some free time…ha ha ha 🙂

Even if you don’t have a trip to the beach planned, this bag will work for just about any occasion!  And, in my opinion, you can never have too many bags/purses/totes!!!

 

Leave a Reply

