It’s A Jungle Out There

Tonight was so much fun!  I went to a baby shower for a dear friend who is expecting her second baby boy.  I believe I have expressed my love of showers on here before, so I won’t subject you to that again…but I do love them!!!

I was got to make the cake for this shower & it was a blast to make!  I’ve literally been working on this cake for about one week.  It had several fondant figurines, so I just decided to pace myself and do one a night.  Here’s how it turned out…I was pleased 🙂

ImageEverything on the cake is edible…well, except for the lollipop sticks I covered with fondant to make the palm trees.  My hubby asked me how palm trees and the jungle theme tied together…I don’t know…it just does!!

Along with making the cake, I decided to make the shower gift as well.  For all of you non-sewers out there, this projects for you.  Absolutely no sewing is involved…and the result was really cute!

Image

I found this link on Pinterest a few days ago.  There are tons of handmade baby gift ideas on it & I’m glad my friends are having babies, because I want to try more out!  When you check out the monthly onesie section, you can click on this link to go to the free printables page.  From here, you can choose from several colors & print on iron on transfer paper.  I found the paper at Wal-Mart and Michael’s and I’m sure it’s at other office supply stores.  You can find the onesies…well, anywhere 🙂

One word of advice…and this lesson I learned the hard way.  When you print, either make sure your printer is set up to print mirror image, or choose the printable that is the mirror image.  I printed off the whole year before I realized that I needed it to be backwards.  *Sigh*  That’s what I get for getting in a big hurry and not reading the instructions…or thinking clearly.

I love the idea of chronicling your child monthly…especially during that first year.  They go through so many changes, it really is remarkable the difference a year makes.  I see lots of my friends on Facebook posting these pics and when I saw this gift idea, I thought “perfect!”.

Then, I thought, some people at the shower might not realize what the onesies are for, so I made up this little poem (feel free to “CASE” it…copy and steal everything!  Change it up if you need)

Time flies when you’re having fun

Before you know it, he’ll be one

Use these onesies to slow the grow

Take a picture every month or so

When the year has come and gone,

The photos will linger on

To remind you of the love and care

And memories that you can share.

Fun, right?  It seemed to be a big hit.  Since I did every other month in a different color, I have a second set of iron ons ready to go as a gift…just gotta get more onesies!!

I love celebrating new life.  Everywhere I look, I see thinkings coming alive…the tulips, trees, grass (which my hubby has mowed twice already!).  I see God’s handiwork all around.  New babies are such a joy and blessing, I can’t help but get excited to welcome a new bundle of joy into the world!!

Leave a Reply

