No Monkeying Around!

Today was a lot of fun.  The weather is finally warm!!  The sun was shining & we had a nice breeze going on.  A perfect Saturday!  It was a great day too, because I got to go to a friend’s baby shower.

I love showers.  Maybe that makes me a nerd.  I really enjoy wedding showers.  It takes me back to when my hubby and I were planning our new life together.  I love seeing all the shiny new appliances.  The towels that aren’t frayed.  The silverware that has all of its pieces together.  *sigh*

I also love baby showers.  I look at my kiddos who are growing faster than I’d like to admit & I remember the nesting…getting their rooms ready for their arrival.  I love the smell of diapers.  The cute little baby clothes.  The soft cuddly blankets that I secretly wish I could cover up with.  The stuffed animals with rattles built in.  If you’re a mom…you know what I’m talking about 🙂

So, today at the shower, I made the cake.  It was a lot of fun.  Here’s a pic of it.  It matched the shower decorations and everything looked really cute!!

monkey cake

 

Of course, my little princess had to get in the pic too.

This blog isn’t about the cake though.  It’s what I made for the gift.  I found this really neat tutorial on Pinterest a few days ago & thought I’d give it a try.  I love hooded towels.  My kiddos still use theirs.  On this site, the author has so many hooded towels to choose from.  Since we had a monkey theme going on, of course I chose the monkey.  My next towels will most likely be the Angry Birds hooded towels for my son.  We’re going to go to the beach this summer with my parents and I think those would make some cool towels to use 🙂

monkey towel

Here’s the finished towel.  I tried to take a pic of myself just holding it, but it looks much cute on.  I realize this is kind of big for a baby, but it’ll grow with her 🙂

I really felt like it was fairly easy to make.  I’m still working on appliques.  My machine is about 50+ years old, so it’s tricky…I have to hold a lever over with one had to get the zigzag stitch & guide the material with my other hand.  It’s definitely a slow going process.

I can’t wait to try more towels!!  With the materials you get for each towel, you can make 2 hoods and one full towel.  So, if I want to make another monkey towel, all I’ll have to get is the full size towel.  Yay for leftover material!!!

I hope you enjoy the rest of your Saturday!!  Have a wonderful Lord’s Day tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

