Getting To Know You

I went to a funeral today.  Not the way I typically spend the Saturday before Easter.   I didn’t know the person who had passed very well.  I was mainly there to support the family.  You do that a lot when you’re a minister’s wife.  You attend funerals for former members…maybe the quit attending before you even moved there, but you go…to show support.  When that happens, I like to think of the verse in Romans 12:15, “Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn.”

When I go to a funeral of someone I didn’t know, or someone I was just acquaintances with, I always leave with this thought “Wow!  They sounded like a wonderful person.  I wish I had gotten to know him/her better.”

You see, at funerals, you always hear the wonderful attributes of a person.  You never hear (at least I haven’t) people get up to share a memory when the deceased was perfectly awful…”I remember how they used to cut people off in traffic” or “Remember that time they cheated on their tax return??”  No, we remember the good things.

So, for the past week, I’ve been thinking a lot.  I’ve been thinking of how I missed an opportunity to know a really nice person.  I think back to other funerals I’ve been too and think about those missed opportunities.  Then, I think…I need to do something about this.

I need to become more invested in people’s lives.  I need to take the time to sit down and really listen to them.  Find out what’s going on in their lives.  The good.  The bad.  And yes, even the ugly.

But that takes time.  And emotional investments.  If I ask someone how they’re doing, I better be ready to hear them.  I need to listen for something more than “I’m fine” or “Doing well”.  

I also thought about what it would have been like to be a Jesus’ funeral, if there had been one.  Of course, we have the Bible, so we already know the great things that he’s done.  But, if I had been there and heard about the miracles, the healings, the words he spoke, what would I have  thought?  “Oh yes, I remember that”, or “Wow!  He sounded like a wonderful person.  I wish I had gotten to know him better.”

Luckily, even if we would have uttered that last statement, it’s not too late.  We can still get to know him.  Through study, through prayer, through sitting around and looking at creation.  He is there.  And, as we celebrate Easter tomorrow, we have the reassurance that he will be coming back someday.  

Take some time to get to know Jesus today.  

One thought on “Getting To Know You

Leave a Reply

