No Pain, No Gain

As a Weight Watchers leader, I am a member.  Every employee of Weight Watchers is a member first, even all the way up to our CEO.  Each employee must stay within their weight goal.  We weigh in once a month.  Even as employees, we struggle with weight loss and maintenance.  Talk to anyone Lifetime Member (a person who has reached their goal weight and is now maintaining), maintaining weight loss is sometimes harder than losing.

Why is that??  Why would maintaining be harder than losing?  Doesn’t really make sense.  However, I have personally experienced this in the past few months.  You get a little lax in what you’re eating…you don’t exercise quit exercising and all of a sudden, you notice the scale creeping up little by little.

So, it hit me.  Even though we still have snow on the ground, summer will be here soon.  You know what that means.  Trips to the beach…and every woman’s nemesis…swim suits!!  I saw that season looming….and I was no where near ready for it.

So, what’s a girl to do??  Well, I started tracking again.  I started exercising.  Basically, I started following the Weight Watchers program again.

If you haven’t considered Weight Watchers, or are curious about it, seriously…check it out.  I’ve only done Weight Watchers, but it is the only weight loss program that I see makes sense.  It’s not a “diet”…it’s truly a lifestyle.  To find out more, check it out here.

The thing I think that has made the biggest difference for me (besides eating more fruit & veggies…) is the exercise.  I have been wearing a device that Weight Watchers offers called the ActiveLink. Basically, it monitors your movements in a very precise manner, comes up with challenges and keeps track of your results.  It’s wonderful!

So, I’ve been doing at least 45 minutes on the elliptical everyday (except for a few days over the weekend).  I discovered a show on Netflix, maybe you’ve heard of it…”Drop Dead Diva”.  While the premise sounds, well, ridiculous, I really like the show.  So, to motivate me to exercise, I have restricted the show to “elliptical only”.  I can only watch while on the elliptical.  Brilliant, right?  So, thank you Netflix & my Kindle Fire…I now have reason to exercise 🙂  

I’ve also come across this app.  “Sit-Ups to Six Pack” walks you through a 9 week challenge where it will help you develop a six pack.  I came across this app one day & it was (wait for it)  FREE!  Of course, I downloaded it.  I looked it over and thought it seemed doable for me.  So, in addition to the elliptical, I’ve integrated the app into my exercise regimen.

Now, I’m only on day 1 of week #2, so no six pack yet.  I didn’t take my measurements last week (oops….always take your measurements before you start a new exercise routine), so I’m not sure how many inches I have lost.  However, I weighed in this morning, and I’m down 3.6 pounds!!  While not everyone will lose at this rate (disclaimer), I was pretty psyched!  I feel energized & for the first time in a long time, I’m enjoying exercising & tracking!!!

I’m looking forward to the day where there won’t be snow on the ground, and the bitter chill has left the air.  I have visions of playing with the kids at the park, taking nice walks, working out in the garden, eating fresh fruits and veggies.  Until then, I’ll dream of sunny skies and keep up the elliptical and work on my six pack 🙂

5 thoughts on “No Pain, No Gain

  1. I have only been overweight once in my life. That was before I started training Jiu Jitsu. I have been training now for over 4 years and weight is never a problem. It is such a cardio active sport and what makes it so enjoyable is the fact that it is fun and intellectual. If exercise isn’t enjoyable then maintaining will not be easy. I also never bend or break in what I am wiling to eat. I have many absolutes that I live by with my diet and I never make an exception. No pizza, fast food, soda, chocolate, high-fructose corn syrup, packaged cakes or snacks. I basically avoid all foods that are obviously low in nutritional value. I “just say no”. Many people struggle because they have soft limits in what they will eat. Meaning, they fall for that old saying “I can do anything in moderation”. If people were good at moderating their diet than 65 percent of the U.S. wouldn’t be overweight.

  2. Congrats on the weight loss; way to go!!!! FYI! I looked at the link for the abs workout app and it must have been a special as it is now listed at $1.99 for the app.

  3. yay! I can’t wait to get back on WW! But you know me – I do a lot of exercise. However we just got netflix again, so I may have to check out that show! I wish I had an elliptical or treadmill at home – but just a bike trainer! And a side note for the abs – you could also just to daily planks and track your time and slowly build up. I have been doing them and they are hard, but fun seeing progress! keep it up! exercise won’t be so boring after awhile!

    • I might do planks on the days I’m not doing sit ups…you only do them 3 days a week. Good idea :). Check the show out. Very cute & clean. I don’t remember any bad language (might be a word here or there), but nothing terrible.

Leave a Reply

