Say “Cheese….Cake!”

As I sit here, with the computer on my lap, I’m looking out my back door and I see this:

snow

Yes, that’s right…tomorrow is my son’s first day of Spring Break, but it seems mother nature had other ideas.  I’m ok with this…at least we don’t have to use anymore snow days!!

A few weeks ago, some friends of ours invited us over for dinner.  When I asked what I could bring, the hostess said “dessert”.  Yay!!!  One of my favorite things to make 🙂

Well, I decided to get a little ambitious.  I found this recipe on Pinterest for Salted Caramel Cheesecake.  I had pinned it a long time ago, but hadn’t worked up the nerve to make it.  I have never made a cheesecake from scratch before.  I’m an icebox pie type girl.

However, my love for salted caramel whatever trumped inexperience.  So, against every Weight Watchers bone in my body, I bought 3 8 oz packages of REAL cream cheese, REAL butter, REAL sugar, REAL…well, you get the idea.

This is a multi-step process, so allow yourself at least 2 days to work on it.  In the recipe, it says it’s best to let the cheesecake setup overnight.  One note also about the salt in the recipe…a lot of people commented that it was too salty.  However, please note that the first word in the name is SALTED.  It’s supposed to be salty.  Also, use kosher salt & I think you’ll be fine.

This morning, I woke up early to make the caramel sauce.  The first step is to combine the water and sugar over medium heat until it turns a dark honey brown, claiming to take only 3-5 minutes.  Simple enough, right? Hard to mess up sugar and water.  Well, I watched the clock.  3 minutes went by.  Then 5…then 7…at minute 10, I started to get worried.  Then, I reasoned to myself, “maybe it’s a misprint.  Maybe she meant to put 13-15 minutes.”  At minute 11, I thought “Well, if this doesn’t work out, I can always go buy caramel sauce…hey, why didn’t I do that in the first place??”  About that time, it started turning that honey color and all was well in the world.

cheesecake

So, at the end of the day, it was a big hit!! Our friends loved it & my hubby took back what he said about how I “shouldn’t try new recipes on our friends”.

If you are a fan of cheesecake, or caramel, or salt…or all three…this recipe is for you!!  I definitely will be making this again!!

Happy Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

