Have A Fiesta For Lunch!

Well, you’re in luck…it’s another new recipe day 🙂  What can I say??  Being snowed in brings out the chef in me!

I found this new recipe on Pinterest as well.  Here’s the link to it.  If you click here, you’ll get directed to the actual blog where the recipe originated from…however, if you try to go there today (Sunday), you’ll see what I saw this morning.  The site is under construction until tomorrow!!

I know, trying a brand new recipe on a Sunday morning… Daylight Savings Time Sunday no less…wasn’t the brightest idea.  When I saw the site was under construction and there wasn’t a way to get to the recipe, I…well…freaked out, stressed out, panicked!  After my little panic session, I realized I had a whole recipe box at my finger tips…thank you Google!

So, I googled “crock pot chicken fajita recipes” and came up with this little jewel.  When I bought groceries this week, I had looked at the ingredients list on the original recipe, so when I saw this, I knew it was pretty much the same recipe, with a few minor details.  

One difference between the 2 was the original recipe I was going to use had a little bit of chicken broth in it…to keep the chicken moist.  I didn’t remember how much, so I added about 1/2 cup.  Next time, I might use about 1/3-1/4 cup, because it seemed a little soupy. The rest of the recipe was pretty much the same (from what I can remember).  I used 2 full chicken breasts (I cut them lengthwise because they were so thick).  The veggies were cut kind of thicker, since they would be in the slow cooker for several hours.  Instead of getting juice from fresh limes, I picked the lazy way out & got the lime juice that comes in the plastic lime…much easier & almost as cheap as the regular limes!

I cooked it on low in my slow cooker (check out “What A Crock…Pot” to read about my  obsession with my new slow cooker) for about 5 hours.  How nice is it to throw everything in one pot, turn it on, go to worship services (which were wonderful, by the way) and come home to a perfectly cooked lunch??

We used soft tortillas to serve the fajitas in.  You can come up with all kinds of toppings to make it more interesting.  We had sour cream, salsa, cheese, lettuce.  I didn’t think about it until later, but jalapeno peppers would have been great as well!  I also added some lemon juice on my fajitas…kind of brightened the flavors up a bit.

My house smelled like a yummy Mexican restaurant.  My son raved about the meal & before I could even ask, my hubby told me that the new recipe was “a keeper”.  He also complemented me, since I tried two brand new recipes out on the fam this week & both were hits (read “Easy Chicken Dinner” for the other new meal).

I still can’t get to my Recipe Builder on my Weight Watchers eTools,  However, the only ingredients with Points Plus Values would be the chicken (plus all your toppings and tortillas).  The actual recipe would be very low PPVs.  It’s also very economical.  It feeds a lot of people (even more if you add more than 2 chicken breasts) and the ingredients are fairly inexpensive.

I hope you enjoy this meal as much as my family did.  I can definitely see myself making this dish again…probably this week 🙂  Have a wonderful Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

