Easy Chicken Dinner

Well, we survived the March 2013 blizzard.  After almost 17 inches of snow, 3 days of no school, & 2 days of 40+ degree weather, I can see grass!!  Driveways are clearing, snow is melting!!  

One thing that comes with being snowed in is cooking/baking and trying new things.  I tried a new recipe tonight, and let me just say…Yum-O!!!

I pinned this on Pinterest a while ago.  When I went to click on the link, it took me to just the picture.  Luckily, the directions were in the comment section!

Here’s what it looks like before you put it in the oven.  Don’t forget to put the aluminum foil on…I remembered about 20 minutes into baking & believe me, it’s not fun to put foil on a hot dish!

Image

I think it looks pretty 🙂  I’m having visions of making this in the summer, with fresh green beans straight from our garden!!  One note…when (not if, when) I make this again, I will most likely cut the amount of butter in half.  I felt that it was way too buttery/greasy, but that’s probably because I hardly add butter to anything anymore.  I felt a bit like Paula Dean!!

Image

This is what it looked like after dinner was over.  Needless to say, it was a big hit!!  There was actually a little bit of chicken leftover, but it didn’t make the pic.

I used 2 chicken breasts, cut in half lengthwise.  They were pretty thick, so I thought it would help them cook faster & more evenly.  I used 1 can of green beans and 2 red potatoes, cut up in decent sized cubes.  I did end up baking it a little over an hour.  I wanted to make sure the chicken was cooked thoroughly.  Call me crazy, but I’m a little picky when it comes to chicken 🙂

This meal fed a family of four (with some chicken leftover…also, some of us had seconds). Like I stated earlier, it’s not a matter of if I’ll make this again, but when.  It was a big hit with everyone, even the kiddos.  I felt like the chicken was moist and flavorful.  The green beans were yummy & the potatoes were cooked to the perfect tenderness…not raw, but not mushy (this is something I sometimes have problems with).

I ran the meal through my recipe builder on my Weight Watchers eTools.  I came up with 5 PPV, if you say the meal serves 4 (which it did, and then some).  However, I forgot to put in the butter information and now, I can’t pull the recipe up to edit it (don’t you just love technology??).  I’m guessing the butter may add another point or 2 to the individual number, which would bring it up to a 6 or 7.  It’s still a great bargain for the amount of food you get.  

This is definitely a meal worth making!  I love simple, easy and tasty meals that the whole family enjoys.  It’s a good value, considering that all of the ingredients are reasonable in price.  I love the fact that it’s a one dish meal & I don’t have to stay in the kitchen, babysitting pots and pans!!

Have a wonderful weekend (what’s left of it!).  Don’t forget to “spring forward” and set your clocks ahead one hour.  If you’re reading this and you live in an area that doesn’t follow Daylight Savings Time, consider yourself lucky 🙂  

3 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Dinner

  1. This is a recipe that Kitty had shared with us along time ago at WW, but without the butter and is delish! You may not remember having had it at home back then; good to be reminded of good easy recipes, i hadn’t thought of it for a long time.

Leave a Reply

