Punxsutawney Phil…You Were Wrong!

So, on February 2, 2013, up in Punxsutawney, PA, a little ground hog named Punxsutawney Phil stuck his head out of his hole…or maybe he was pulled out…anyway, he came out of his hole and (drumroll please) did not see his shadow!  According to legend or tradition or old wives tales, that means we’re going to have an early spring.

I’m not sure why that’s the case.  The meteorologist, who go to school for years to learn weather patterns can’t even get it right…how can a large rodent up in Pennsylvania do any better??

Well, apparently, he can’t!  Last night (March 5th), it started snowing.  Before that, it had been snowing all over the northwest part of the country.  Flights were cancelled.  Schools closed.  And…it’s March.  And…we’re supposed to have an early spring…  According to the Weather Channel, the winter storm they named “Saturn” (someone please tell me why we’re naming winter storms now), our area got the largest snow accumulation that has come out of the storm so far!

We ended up with almost 17 inches at our house.  A friend of mine said she had 23 inches and more was coming down!  Amazing!!

Image

This top pic was taken last night, right when it started snowing.  The bottom pic was taken at about 9 this morning, when we had about 14 or so inches.  What a difference!!

A few things come to mind when one has an unexpected snow day.  Staying in pajama’s until lunch time, sleeping in, watching movies, playing in the snow, etc.  This morning, since no one had to rush off to anywhere, I decided to make Chocolate Gravy (it must be said that I rarely make a fancy breakfast…and yes, Chocolate Gravy counts as fancy, at least for me!).  Now, if you’re not from the South, this may sound foreign (and a little gross), but believe me, it’s wonderful!!!!  How to describe??  Basically, it’s a little like chocolate pudding, served hot over freshly baked biscuits.  Yummy.  I have my mother-in-law’s recipe that I use a lot.  I hope it’s ok with her…I’m going to share it with you (sorry Nana!)

Nana’s Chocolate Gravy

3/4 c. sugar   1/3 c. flour    2 TBSP cocoa    1/4 tsp salt    2 c. milk    1 TBSP butter    1 tsp vanilla

Sift flour, sugar, cocoa and salt.  Gradually add milk.  Mix until blended. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until mixture thickens and boils.  Cook an additional minute.  Remove from heat.  Add butter and vanilla.  Serve over fresh baked biscuits.

Yum-O!  Seriously!!  And not as bad as you might think.  I ran the recipe through the Weight Watchers Recipe Builder on my eTools & it worked out to be 3 PPV (if you make 8 servings.  I estimated it did and each serving is 1/4 cup…plenty of chocolate gravy!!)  I used light butter and skim milk…still tastes rich and creamy!

Another thing that comes to mind with a snow day is snow ice cream!!!  I’ve made it dozens of times, but can never seem to keep a recipe around.  So, I searched on…where else??  Pinterest!  I found this simple, easy & quick snow ice cream recipe!

Image

The kiddos loved it!  The look on my son’s face is amazement 🙂  My daughter said it was better than Sweet Frog (and if you know my family, you know we love those new “pay by the ounce” fro-yo places popping up)!  I think it’s the novelty of eating snow…not something you do every day.

Of course, we also played out in the snow.  After about 3 hours of getting snow pants, hats, gloves, coats, etc on, we were finally ready.  Of course, you only play out for about 20 minutes and then it’s time to come back inside for some hot cocoa!  I had to carry Sophie around the yard until we came to a place and cleared out some snow.  It almost buried her!!

Image

Image

As you can see, we had a blast!  Now, everyone’s inside watching “The Lorax” on Netflix, since our cable decided to quit working.  I should count my blessings…we still have power while some do not (knock on wood).  

I just found out that there’s no school tomorrow!  Ahhhh!!!!!  I’m sure we’ll still have plenty of snow leftover for more ice cream.  What to do next???  I know!!  I’ll peruse Pinterest for some more snow day ideas 🙂

p.s.  If you’ve noticed, recently I’ve been putting a watermark on my personal pics.  I do that via an app I found.  It was free and it’s very easy to use.  Check out the link to the App Store here!!

2 thoughts on “Punxsutawney Phil…You Were Wrong!

Leave a Reply

