Happy Birthday Cake!

So, what were you doing 8 years ago tonight?  Hard to remember?  I remember like it was yesterday.  I was checking into the hospital.  They were going to induce me the next morning, because Brayden decided he was perfectly cozy where he was and didn’t want to come out.  He was a week late and was making no indication that things were going to change.

After a crazy day of labor, I ended up having him via emergency C-section.  It was not at all the way I imagined it, but when it was all said and done…he was perfect!  My hubby’s favorite joke is that “you should pick someone because they’re beautiful inside, not just on the outside.  That day, I saw Tiffany’s insides…they weren’t beautiful”.  Ha ha ha.

Brayden has been a joy in our lives.  He’s a very laid back, thoughtful little boy.  He’s always wanting to help others.

When he was 1 year old, I made his birthday cake.  Little did I know that it would start a tradition (and a little side business).  I decided to take some cake decorating classes at Hobby Lobby with some friends.  It was a blast!!!  I soon was hooked on shows like Ace of Cakes & Cake Boss.

Image

Each year, I try to make a cake that reflects his interests.  His first birthday cake was Blue’s Clues.  Then, it went Thomas the Tank Engine, a drum, Lightening McQueen, Mickey Mouse, a Minion from Despicable Me (one of my favorites!) and last year…interactive Angry Birds.  This year, I went with his favorite TV show…Phineas & Ferb.

I found many Phineas and Ferb cakes on Pinterest.  I found this one (sorry, there was something messed up with the link and you can only see the pic).

So, I tried my hand at it.  Now, I will preface this by saying I don’t make a lot of figurines, so they are really rough around the edges.  However, I’m making it for a bunch of kids who are just going to eat it…so I guess I shouldn’t be too worried 🙂

Image

Image

Image

I really like how the fence turned out.  It’s a good thing too, because I had a hard time for some reason covering the base cake with fondant…kept getting little wrinkles around the bottom.  This is why I love fondant…it covers a lot of mess ups!!

Image

Meet Ferb

Image

Phineas…told you figurines is not my thing!

Image

Oh there you are Perry!!!  He’s one of my favorites!

So, we are all caked up and ready to go for a fun birthday party tomorrow.  I’ll put cake #8 in my Facebook album and go clean up my kitchen.  It looks like a bakery tornado went right through the middle of it!!

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Cake!

Leave a Reply

