Make Your Own….Coffee Creamer

You’ve probably noticed a new trend.  I have been making my own…(fill in the blank), a lot recently.  I’m not really sure why.  I just see these cool projects on Pinterest and think, “why not?”

So, I found this pin the other day for make your own coffee creamer.  Now, I don’t drink a lot of coffee, but my hubby does.  If you’re an avid coffee/creamer drinker, I don’t have to tell you it can get pretty pricey to buy.  I usually buy the store brand, unless I have a coupon and/or the name brand is on sale.  I also get the larger, 32 ounce size, because it seems to last longer (I don’t know if it’s just a mental thing) and you usually get a better buy when you buy in bulk.

So, when I went grocery shopping, I picked up a can of sweetened condensed milk.  I got the fat free version, since I was going to use skim milk for a fat free creamer (which is what I normally buy anyway).  I was a little disappointed because the store I shopped at didn’t have a store brand version of the ff sweetened condensed milk, so I had to buy a brand name can, which was a little more than the regular store brand.

I added sugar free vanilla syrup to the mixture.  Then, the taste test.  I brewed one cup of coffee and divided it equally between 2 cups.  I added a pack of Splenda to each cup and 1 TBSP of the store bought, vanilla ff creamer to one mug and the homemade version to the other.

The verdict?  I’m kind of mixed on this one.  The taste is not exactly the same, but it’s not bad.  I ended up adding an extra tablespoon of the vanilla syrup to the homemade creamer, and that helped.  The cost, in my mind, is about the same.  When I buy the creamer on sale, I end up paying about the same amount as I spent making the homemade version (keep in mind, the homemade version doesn’t make 32 ounces…only makes about 30).

The consistency is about the same.  I felt that the homemade stuff was a little thinner.  It doesn’t make your coffee as creamy looking as the store bought stuff, but you do still have the taste that you’ve added creamer to your coffee.

Pros for the homemade version:  #1:  You can experiment with flavors.  The blog that I got the recipe from has tons of suggestions.  I used vanilla because I wanted to do a taste comparison and we had vanilla creamer at home.  #2:  If you’re looking for something without a lot of chemicals in it, this is for you.  The sweetened condensed milk had 4 ingredients…the first was milk…and I could pronounce all of them!  Our store brand creamer had 12 ingredients…the first was water, only had a milk derivative in it, and forget about pronouncing (or spelling) half of them!  #3: I’ve always wondered about the shelf life of the liquid creamers…especially the ones that don’t ever have to be refrigerated.  The one in our fridge doesn’t expire until April 2013!  The creamer you make yourself should last about as long as the ingredients you put in it.  In other words, when your milk expires, dump any leftover creamer.

I haven’t had my hubby try it.  Not sure it would be his kind of thing…but if he does try it (hint hint) I will update this post & give you his opinion.

Feeling brave??  Try this out & let me know what you think!

Happy Monday everyone!

Leave a Reply

