Make Your Own…Dishwashing Detergent

The other day, I posted an article (see Make Your Own…) about making your own laundry detergent.  While I was making and using it, I thought to myself, “I wonder if I can make my own dish washing detergent”.

A couple of days later, I stumbled on this pin.  I wasn’t even searching for it!  I checked out the ingredients, and already had a few…thanks to making my own laundry detergent.  All I needed to get was the kosher salt and Lemi Shine.

Now, where we live, we don’t have problems with hard water.  However, my mother-in-law does, so I immediately forwarded the info to her.  I don’t know if she’s tried it yet, but I figure, why not?  If it doesn’t work, you’re not worse off than you were before.

I mixed the recipe up yesterday.  The blogger mentions that she had problems with it clumping and getting stuck in the soap dispenser, so she left the mixture out in a bowl for a couple of days before using.  Well, I’m not that patient, so I left the bowl out over night.  I didn’t notice any issues with clumping, so I loaded up the dishwasher and gave it a go.

Normally, I use those little pods that Cascade or another brand make.  They are pretty expensive, so I only get them when I have a coupon that I can use while they’re also on sale at the grocery store.  I hit the jackpot a few weeks ago.  We have a grocery store that buys items that are odd flavors, seasonal items, or near end dates and then sell them at deeply discounted prices.  I found the Cascade pods…110 for $10.99.  They worked great at first, and then I started noticing that not all of the dishes were coming out completely clean.  I also noticed a cloudy build up on the dishes as well…especially the plastic ones.  I don’t know if there was some kind of build up going on in my dishwasher, but I didn’t like it.

How did it turn out?  Well, I should first state that in my excitement, I forgot to add the vinegar rinse aid.  The article says to not add it to where you would normally put the rinse aid, but put it in a container in the top shelf.  I’m going to have to research what kind of container to put it in, so if any of you know…please tell me!

I purposely put some heavily stained/dirty dishes in the dishwasher…just to see how it would do.  One was a crock pot that had gone through a cycle once and had dried on, stuck on stuff left in it.  Another was a platter that had dried brie on it…another Pinterest project that I’ll blog about later.  I have also been having issues with my silverware coming out with streaks on it…and stuck on food left on it.  Normally, I don’t wash my dishes before I put them in the dishwasher.  That’s why I have a dishwasher and I refuse to do all the hard work for it 🙂

Everything came out clean…even the brie platter.  The glasses looked clean.  The silverware was streak free.  I did have a rubbermaid container that is plastic that had a bit of cloudiness on it, but I’m wondering now if that’s a rinse aid issue.  

ImageThis is how much one batch makes up.  You only use 1 tablespoon per load, so you can imagine how long this is going to last!  I’m not as crafty as the blogger…I didn’t go to a lot of trouble to make a cute container with vinyl letters for the soap.  Maybe one of these days…

The costs are hard to figure, since I already had most supplies.  Check your local grocery store or Wal-Mart.  I believe the Borax is almost $4 (but you don’t use the whole box), The A&H washing soda is about the same, and again, you don’t use the entire box.  The kosher salt was about $0.85.  The Lemi-Shine was a little over $3.  Start up costs would be a little high, but if you consider you don’t use the entire amount of anything you buy, it’s pretty economical.  

I find that I am enjoying making my own cleaning supplies.  There is a bit of satisfaction in knowing that I don’t have to rely on the brand name products with added chemicals to keep my home & the stuff in it clean.  I read a very interesting scary article today about the chemicals and *gasp* rodent hair/maggots/feathers that are purposefully left in our foods to add…well, I’m not sure what they want it to “add”.  My hubby and I are discussing looking to can more, cutting out foods with artificial dyes in them, basically moving more towards “clean eating”.  I’m sure I’ll be blogging about that in the future!

Happy Tuesday everyone!!

Leave a Reply

