Iron Chef Taste, Rice Krispie Effort

Happy New Year!!  I hope 2013 is treating you well so far!  My family rang in the new year just like I expected.  Kids were in bed by about 8:30.  We did go to one of our favorite frozen yogurt spots (Zinga), to celebrate after dinner.  My hubby went to bed a little later…early for my standards, but he had to get some beauty sleep before his deer hunt today.

Image

As you can see, we got a little wild and crazy at Zinga…later on, we discovered my son can do the “robot” dance & managed to get it on video.  Very entertaining!

Speaking of dinner, I’d like to share a recipe with you that I found on Pinterest.  One thing you should know about me and cooking.  I like fake out recipes.  You know…the kind that look and taste like they were super hard and took forever.  The kind that after people eat them, they think you must be an Iron Chef or something.  Remember that Rice Krispies Treat commercial a few years back?  The one where the mom was in the kitchen, did hardly any work, made the treats, threw some flour on her face, sighed really big & went to the dinner table with her dessert.  Everyone “oohhhed” and “aahhhed” over her concoction.  She got all the glory, without the headache.  

Well, this is that kind of a recipe.  I’m pretty sure it could be done in the crock pot…making it even less work (as if that were possible).

I followed the recipe 100%, except I used venison instead of beef.  We still have a lot of meat left and I needed some uses for the stew meat we had (besides making stew).  So, I dumped the meat in the 9X13 dish, sprinkled the dry onion soup mix on top.  Then, I mixed the cream of mushroom soup, brown gravy mix and water together, poured it on top of the meat, stirred it around a bit, put foil on top, stuck it in the oven for 3 hours.  Two hours and forty-five minutes later, I opened a can of green beans, heated them on the stove, boiled some water, cooked some egg noodles & threw flour on my face!

At this point, I should tell you I don’t like onions & I’m not crazy about cream of mushroom soup.  So, what made me pin this recipe?  I have no idea, other than the fact it was super easy.

The verdict??  My hubby LOVED it!!  Hours later, long after dinner was over, he was still talking about it.  My son ate every bite of his & told me he wanted to take some for his lunch this week at school!  This is definitely a keeper recipe.  I was able to eat around the onions & you don’t really notice the mushrooms.  About 1 hour into cooking, your house starts smelling amazing!!

One thing I might change next time I make this (and yes, I will be making this a lot) is I will serve it over brown rice instead of egg noodles.  The egg noodles were ok, but they didn’t really soak up the gravy.  My hubby suggested white rice, but I think brown rice will be a little healthier 🙂  The recipe also suggests serving over mashed potatoes, which I can imagine would be equally as yummy!  I ran the recipe through my Weight Watchers recipe builder, and it came out to 6 PPV (when you figure 8 servings) without the noodles.  Considering the amount you get, this is a very hearty meal!  

Make this one of the recipes you try in 2013…I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!!  May God bless you and your family this year!!!

Leave a Reply

