Count Your Blessings…Name Them One By One

So, today is New Year’s Eve.  How will you spend it??  Some go to parties and stay up late.  Some plan small, intimate gatherings at home with a few friends and/or family members.  Me?  I’ll probably stay up until midnight (like every other night) and go to bed after the ball drops.  Kiddos will be sound asleep in bed.   Hubby will either already be in bed, or will be asleep on the couch :). 

Tomorrow, you may get up and eat black-eyed peas for good luck (a tradition that I never really took part in…not a black-eyed peas fan…the food, not the music).

No matter how you spend this evening, you’re probably thinking about how this last year went.  How was 2012?  Was it a banner year??  Good or bad, it’s over and we have a fresh new year…2013. 

One of my all time favorite books/movies is the Anne of Green Gables series.  What can I say?  I’m a sucker for a redhead in a leading role!  Our family took a trip to Prince Edward Island in Canada a few years ago & I got to see the house that inspired the books.  I got to walk in the haunted woods!!  If you’re a fan, then you understand!  Probably my all time favorite quote is this:

“Tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it.” – Anne Shirley

Around this time of year, you see people making New Year’s Resolutions.  Nothing wrong with that…I’ve made a few myself.  One thing I think I’ll try this year, I found on Pinterest:

The basic idea is that you start with an empty jar/box, etc.  Then, as the year progresses, you write down the good things that happened.  I’d like for my family to write down how God has blessed their lives during the year.   I think this will be a great exercise to use to show my kids how God actively works in our lives.  Then, December 31, 2013, we will open said jar/box and read the blessings.  How amazing to read about things that happened almost a year earlier!!  Maybe we had forgotten them…maybe other things had taken precedence in our minds.  Many times we dwell on the negative and forget all the great things that have happened. 

I encourage all of you to do something similar.  If you want to take it a different way, you could write down prayers that have been answered throughout the year.  You could write down any number of things.  The important thing is to remember the good that has happened the whole year.

Happy New Year!!  May God bless you and your family in 2013!

Leave a Reply

