Pass The Ink, Please…

Don’t you hate it when you’re in the middle of printing something off at home…maybe a paper you’re writing for finals.  Maybe it’s a cute Pinterest project.  Then…BAM!!  You run out of ink.  Of course, you don’t have an extra cartridge around.  Sigh…what to do?

Well, that happened to me the other day, with one exception…I actually had an extra cartridge around.  But, the paper I printed (literally the last page I was printing) looked like this…

Image

So, I replace the cartridge.  My printer has to “Align” the cartridges (whatever that means). It prints a lot of random stuff on the page & then has me put it in the scanner & it scans it (we have one of those fancy smancy printer/scanner/copier machines).

After I replaced the cartridge, I remembered I had pinned this on Pinterest.  At best, I was skeptical that it would work.  I’ve never heard of “resetting” your cartridge.  But hey, what did I have to lose??  I saved my cartridge and it cost nothing to try.

Well, I waited a few days, then remembered I hadn’t done it yet, so I tried it out this afternoon.  I took my cartridge…

Image

I think any brand will work.  I believe the tutorial had an Epison cartridge…

Image

I used that ink pen & pushed a little button type thingy on the bottom of the cartridge.  The tutorial says to press the “reset” button, but mine didn’t have the word “reset” by it (insert conspiracy theory here…mean ole ink cartridge people).  This literally took me 5 seconds.  I put it back into my printer.  Of course, I had to “align” the cartridges.  Here’s what it printed.

Image

Mind blown!!!  I couldn’t believe it at all!!!  Just to give you a little perspective, here are the two papers side by side…one printed with a brand new cartridge…the other was the old “out of ink” cartridge.

ImageWhich is which???  As my hubby says, “if you can’t tell, I’m not gonna tell you”.  Of course, for the sake of the blog, I’ll tell you :).  The one on the left is the brand new cartridge.  The one on the right is the one I printed with the empty cartridge.  In person, you can see that the black ink is a little lighter on the old cartridge, but who cares????  I just saved a ton of money (well, not a ton…maybe $15…but, in the economy…) and I didn’t have to switch car insurances!!!

Now, I haven’t printed anything else on it.  I have no idea how much it will print before it completely gives out.  However, if you have one last page to print off for your doctoral thesis, this will getcha by in a pinch.

I showed my hubby and he was floored.  He said “now I know why those companies (Staples, Office Depot, etc) want you to bring in your old cartridges”.  I’m not sure if this is 100% of the reason…they tout recycling or something, but it does make you wonder…

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this non-Christmas project article today.  I am done with my Christmas sewing.  I just have a couple of hunting type sewing projects that I’m working on for the hubby, which I will share with you when they’re done…unless it goes south.  In that case, you will never know what happened 🙂

Merry Christmas!!!!!

Leave a Reply

