Do You Smell What I Smell?

I love the smells of Christmas.  Cookies, cakes & pies baking in the oven.  Cinnamon and apple candles burning.  The fresh scent of live Christmas trees (if you have one).  I don’t know what it is about those smells, but they’re my favorite.  I usually try to have those scents around all year long!

So, when I found this on Pinterest, I couldn’t wait to try it!  So, I went to the grocery store today & loaded up on supplies to make my own Christmas potpourri.  I had an orange already, but had to buy everything else.

I quickly assembled the brew.  When my hubby came home, he was very confused.  At first, he thought it was supper 🙂  I think he was trying to figure out a way to go somewhere else to eat!  Later, he told me that “You’ve gotta stop with that Pinterest thing…you’re going to turn me into a newt!” (because of the strange concoction).

I followed the recipe 100%.  I tried to figure out to my best knowledge how much each pot full would cost.  My best guess (because it’s hard to estimate the cloves and cinnamon sticks) was about $0.75.  It took me literally less than 5 minutes to put everything together. Easy peasy.

Oh, how I wish I could tell you that the oranges and cinnamon filled my whole house with a warm Christmas-y scent.  I wish I could tell you that for pennies on the dollar, you would never have to buy a plug-in refill or candle to make your home smell wonderful.  Alas, the only time I could smell it is if I put my face almost into the pot.

I had it on the burner for about 5-6 hours.  I don’t really know why it didn’t work for me.  For $0.75, you could try it and see if it’s just me :).  On the plus side…I have a whole container full of cinnamon sticks that I can use for other projects!!!

Leave a Reply

