Pouf, There It Is!

As my husband inwardly groans at the title of this blog, I want to share with you a cute craft/sewing project that I made for my kids for Christmas this year.  I made both of them yesterday.  Once I started, I couldn’t stop!!  I actually finished my son’s at 1 a.m. this morning.  I kept telling myself, “I’ll just finish the handle”…”I’ll just sew the piping on”…before you knew it, it was one o’clock & I ran out of poly-fil!

I got the idea from…you know where…Pinterest.  Click here for the link to the super easy to follow tutorial.

ImageThis one’s for Sophie.  I almost got some Disney Princess fabric, and then I found this at JoAnn’s.  Here room is decorated in pink’s and chocolate brown (not black, but pretty close).  There’s also a theme of polka dots in her room.  I thought this print would grow with her.  Bonus…it’s was 50% off!!

ImageThe pouf chair has a sweet little handle for the kiddos.  Not sure why this pic turned out so fuzzy…

ImageHere’s Brayden’s chair pillow.  He is really into baseball & I love this fabric.  Also purchased at JoAnn’s.  This one should grow with him as well :).

This project came together very easily and quickly.  I was concerned with sewing all the curves and using piping, but the instructions were very clear and well done.  The hardest part was sewing the little part that you keep open so you can stuff the pillows.

I got a huge bag of Poly-fil…it said 50 ounces.  I used almost all of it between the 2 chairs.  I have to say, I hate the feel of Poly-fil.  I don’t know what it is.  I’m fine with it when it’s inside the pillow, but I can barely get myself to fill the pillows.  It’s almost as bad as when someone runs their thumb down the bristles of their toothbrush…might as well be nails on a chalkboard.

This project will add functionality & comfort to any room.  I would love to figure out how to make an adult size version…how fun.  The update on the instructions talks about the author using beans (not real ones…) and making a bean bag chair also.  Very cute idea, but I went with the Poly-fil version.

Each chair took a little over 2 hours from start to finish.  I love how they turned out and can’t wait to see what the munchkins think about them!!  

One thought on “Pouf, There It Is!

Leave a Reply

