Where Have All The Ghosts Gone?

Happy November everyone!  Can you believe that?  It seems like school was just starting the other day, and here we are…November already!

I wanted to share some Halloween pics with you all.  I have to say upfront, Halloween…not my favorite holiday.  I don’t put a lot of effort into costumes like some do.  If not for my kids, I probably wouldn’t even bother.  But, they LOVE Halloween, so I go along with it for them.  

Image

Sophie was the cutest Rapunzel ever (or as she calls her “Tangled)!!  It’s her favorite movie, and she has the long hair, so that was a no brainer.  I made the tutu (which I got off of Pinterest & previously blogged about).  Her Grandma gave her the tiara for her birthday, so it was a really easy costume to put together. For the past week or so, she has been walking around, singing a song her “bubba” taught her.  “Trick or Treat, smell my feet…” you know how it goes.  It’s cute, because she skips the middle section and head straight for the “I’ll pull down your underwear” part.

Image

Gone are the days of the “cute” costume for my son.  In the past, he’s been Larry the Cucumber, Buzz Lightyear, the cutest monkey you’ve ever seen, etc.  Now, it’s Vampires.  However, he does put his own twist on it.  At first, he wanted me to spray his hair white & he was going to be an old man vampire.  He changed his mind later, and decided to be a “Man-pire”…part man, part vampire (his words, not mine).  I did make his cape out of an old graduation gown a friend gave him.  I’m sure that cape will get more use out of in the months ahead.

With Halloween being on a Wednesday this year, we had to get creative on trick or treating.  Luckily, a church up the road from us was having “Trunk or Treat” the Saturday before.  If you don’t know what that is, groups (mostly churches), park their cars in the parking lot, decorate their trunks and give out candy to kids.  I love it, because it’s a lot faster than going house to house and usually safer, because you’re in a place where not a lot of cars are driving by.

Image     

As you can see by the pic, it was pretty windy that day…but we still had fun!

 Image

Brayden even got his face painted!  After Trunk or Treat, we went to a Halloween party, thrown by some good friends.  It really was a lot of fun!    The hostess had great games for kids & adults and we even won some (by “we”, I mean my hubby and son…the girls didn’t do too great on the games this year).  There was also crafting at the party…now I can appreciate a party with crafts 🙂

Image

We didn’t stop there!!  Our local Chick-Fil-A is great about offering different events to the community.  So, Monday night, they offered “Pumpkin Painting on the Patio”.  With Hurricane Sandy upon us, it became “Pumpkin Painting in the Restaurant”, but it was still fun.  Bonus:  Mom didn’t have to cook dinner!!

 Image

 Image

So, even though Halloween’s not on my favorites list, it was still pretty fun this year.  Now that it’s over and all the candy is marked 50% off, that only means one thing.  The gateway to the holiday season is open!  Bring on Thanksgiving (3 weeks away) and Christmas!!!  Let the madness begin!!!!

Leave a Reply

