Rain, Wind and Hurricanes, Oh My!!!

Evening everyone!  I am sitting in my toasty home, riding out the remains of hurricane Sandy.  Luckily, the storm tracked more north than originally thought, and our lovely Blue Ridge Mountains blocked the brunt of the storm.  Winds and a rainy night are what we are dealing with right now.  Not sure what the morning will bring…but I am armed with flashlights & candles :).

It’s been a while since my last post and I apologize.  Like I said earlier, I’ve been busy working on Christmas gifts and most of them I can’t post yet, because some of my readers are receiving said gifts.  All I can say is I’m super excited and they’re really cute!!!  And yes, I got them off of Pinterest.  Never fear!  I will be giving them to my family members at Thanksgiving and not Christmas, so I will post about them and you can make them for your loved ones in time for Christmas.

The good news is I’m about 85% done with getting my gifts together…and I think I’m done making the gifts…unless I find some cute ones on Pinterest.

So, other than prepping for and going through a hurricane, and sewing my heart out, what have I been up to?  Sadly, not too much!!  School is out tomorrow, so my main plan is to stay home and clean (I have neglected my house…sewing is more fun than cleaning, in case you didn’t know).

Image

I found this on Pinterest and love it!!!  My, how times have changed!  I’ve discussed this with my mother-in-law, and neither of us follow the Singer Sewing Manual when it comes to sewing.  I have to admit, there have been times when I have sewn in my pj’s!!  

Our life has taken an interesting turn recently, which has made things a little more hectic.  My hubby, who has been the Involvement Minister at or congregation for a little over 4 1/2 years is now the pulpit minister.  Our pulpit minister who has been here for 19 years, retired in June.  The leaders approached my hubby a few weeks ago and asked if he would step into this new role.  He agreed and they announced it a week ago to the congregation!  It becomes official in January.

We’ve had an onslaught of congrats and encouraging words, which we deeply appreciate.  It’s funny to us how some people view ministry.  You start out as a youth minister, then go into an associate minister role, and then eventually, you get promoted to pulpit minister.  A step ladder approach.  Nothing wrong with that, but we choose to look at it a little differently.

We have prayed for the past several years that God would lead us to a place where we could be used and do His Will.  Almost 5 years ago, He led us to Virginia.  That move was hard, but I think it has been good for us. We’ve gotten out of our comfort zones and have grown as a couple and a family.  Now, we face a new adventure.  

If you are willing, I would love to ask for your prayers.  This is new territory for both of us.  We both grew up with fathers who are ministers (I know…a preacher’s kid marrying a preacher’s kid…scary!).  My hubby has been a minister is one role or another for 14 or so years, but this new role…new responsibility weighs heavy on our  minds and hearts.  Please pray that most of all, we keep God and His Will in the forefront of our thoughts and actions.  Please pray that we are strong enough to handle the responsibilities that will come our way.  Pray that I can be a supportive wife who helps and not hinders her husband :).  And pray that this arrangement blesses our congregation and brings glory to God!  

 

Leave a comment