Do You Like To Talk To Tomatoes??

Does a squash make you smile?  Do you like to waltz with potatoes, up and down the produce aisle???? Then I have a blog for you!!

Ok…I know…cheesy.  If my hubby is reading this, I’m sure he’s rolling his eyes by now.  Oh well.  I love Veggies Tales & so do my kiddos.  

Last Monday, for Sophie’s birthday, we took her to see Veggie Tales Live.  She had a blast!!  Before the show started, she and her daddy went to Daddy/Daughter Date Night at our local Chick-fil-a.  Our Chick-fil-a is great!  They do all kinds of events like that.

ImageShe liked the Princess Cow from a distance…but not so much up close!

So, Veggie Tales Live was a big hit.  When we came home tonight, she started talking about it….one week later.

ImageImageStanding on Daddy to get a better look 🙂

ImageShe was mesmerized!

I remember my first exposure to Veggie Tales.  Believe it or not, I was in college, I think I was a Sophomore.  I went over to my brother-in-law & sister-in-law’s apartment with Michael, my boyfriend at the time. After dinner, they both said excitedly, “You guys have to watch something”. When they turned it on, I thought “You’ve got to be kidding!” but I was immediately sucked in.  I could see how kids would love it.  I also could see how parents would like it too…they had humor in it for adults 🙂

Now that I’m a parent, I still love Veggie Tales…for several reasons.  It has a great message, “God made you special & He loves you very much”…something every kids should hear, but I’m sure some don’t.  Although not always Biblically accurate (French peas really didn’t throw slushies off the wall of Jericho at the Israelites), it does teach Bible stories and teaches them what the stories mean for them.  

As parents, we have a huge job.  Raising our kids.  This job is different, because it’s kind of learn as you go.  Sure, you can read books, you can take parenting classes, but nothing prepares you for day to day life in the trenches.  

Not only do you have to teach your children the basics….ABC’s and 123’s, we are also responsible with growing them in God.  

“Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it.” Proverbs 22:6.

I like how the TNIV words this.  Traditionally, it’s stated as “Train a child…”.  I like “start children off”.  This implies to me that from the very beginning, you need to start teaching them.  Start them off right.  I remember the first time I took Brayden to worship.  It was 3 weeks after he was born, and we came on a Wednesday night…kind of eased into it.  The minister’s wife, who also taught the cradle roll class, walked right up to me, gave me a hug & took Brayden’s car seat carrier into class!!  At first, I didn’t know what to do.  She just grabbed my baby!  I stood in the foyer for a minute and then followed her in.  She had started teaching class, which in cradle roll means you just sing a lot of songs to the babies.  He seemed to be doing ok, so I took a little break and went to my own Bible class.

Now, the Proverb doesn’t mean that if you take your kids to Bible class from the day their born, they will be perfect little angels and not mess up ever in life.  We know that’s not what the author meant.  However, if you start your kids off right…if you take them to class, if you talk to them about spiritual matters in the home, if you show them by example how to have a relationship with God & Jesus, then they have a better chance of sticking with it.

“Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.  Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Write them on the door frames of your houses and on your gates…”  Deuteronomy 11: 18-20.

That list doesn’t leave much time when you’re not talking about the Lord, does it??  Take advantage of those car rides to talk to your children about what the Lord is doing for you and for them.  Instead of getting upset with that guy who just cut you off in traffic, think how Jesus would respond.  These little things will make more of an impact on your children than just merely sitting in a Bible class…or watching Veggie Tales.

Leave a Reply

