Mrs. Jones, You’ve Got A Lovely Daughter

What were you doing three years ago today???  I was settling into a new house.  We had moved in 4 days previous.  Boxes were everywhere.  My mom and grandma had come in 2 days earlier for a visit.  Oh yeah…and I was 9 months pregnant.

Now, I do not recommend moving when you are 9 months pregnant.  It was not a lot of fun.  A friend came over about 1 week before the official move in day to help me set up my kitchen…what a lifesaver she was!!!  After a long day of figuring out where to put dishes and pots and pans, I took my tired, swollen feet and rested…for a little bit.

Tomorrow will be my daughter, Sophia’s, 3rd birthday.  I really can’t believe she’s already 3.  To put it in perspective, my son, Brayden, turned 3 about 3 weeks after we made the big move from Oklahoma to Virginia.

ImageHere she is…minutes old.

ImageThe first time I got to hold her.  Of course, the first post pregnancy photos aren’t the most glamorous, but oh well 🙂

ImageThis is possibly my favorite pic.  Michael was in the nursery while they were giving Sophie her first bath & I was in recovery.  This is my mom, grandma and Brayden seeing Sophie for the very first time.  By the way, this is the quilting grandma I talked about in another blog 🙂

Sophia Grace was born on September 24th.  She weighed 8 pounds 9 ounces and was 21 inches long.  She weighed the exact same weight as her big brother & was only 1/2 an inch longer.  Their baby pics look almost identical.  However, that is where the similarities end.

I should have realized in the hospital that Sophie was going to be strong willed.  My hospital room was on the opposite end of the hallway as the nursery.  That meant that when Sophie was hungry, I could hear the nurses rolling her down the hallway long before she got to the room!!

The things I’ve learned about my daughter over the past 3 years:

#1:  I think she’s going to be a great mommy some day.  She has a baby doll that you can “feed”.  She is always very concerned if the baby says she’s hungry, and immediately gives her some “food”.  Whenever her brother hurts himself…either a stubbed toe or something else, she’s always right there to make sure he’s ok.

#2:  She loves her “Bubba”.  She will follow Brayden around, day & night and will play with him & pester him.  She loves riding in the Jeep with him and loves it when he reads to her.  And, she is his biggest fan when he plays baseball!

Image

Image

#3:  She is stubborn and if something isn’t her idea, it’s not going to happen.  I’m not exactly sure who she gets that from.  She is not potty trained…she never really crawled & she walked after about 1 year of physical therapy.  Nothing physically wrong with her legs or muscles…she just learned that we would carry her around all the time :).

#4:  She is the orneriest almost 3 year old I have ever known.  When she’s going to be silly, she gets this little gleam in her eye.  Her favorite trick to play right now is to act like she’s going to give her daddy a kiss and then run and give me one instead.  I happen to like that game too 🙂

#5:  She is already boy crazy.  She chased a little boy down in the foyer at the church building and kissed him…on the mouth!  Both daddy & Bubba were not too happy about that one.

Image

#6:  She is crazy about chocolate…which she gets from me.  Her favorite??  The chocolate yogurt at Sweet Frog…yummy!!!

Image

#7:  She has her daddy wrapped around her little finger…

Image

#8:  She is the sweetest little girl I know.  She has this way of giving you the sweetest smile & you just melt.

ImageHappy Birthday sweet Sophie!!!!  I love you so much & I’m so proud of you!!!!  You have brought so much joy into our lives.

2 thoughts on “Mrs. Jones, You’ve Got A Lovely Daughter

  1. Happy Birthday Sophia! I love you very much!!! You are a very special girl and also, your momma didn’t mention that you sing beautiful too!!!

Leave a Reply

