Bambi Doesn’t Live Here

So, I’ve spent the better part of the afternoon and evening cleaning the house for company that we have coming in on Thursday.  I sat down for a “short break” and decided before I started vegging out watching Big Bang Theory, I would blog a little bit.

My hubby is taking a hunter safety course tonight.  He is going to take up hunting.  He’s been wanting to do it for years, so he’s making it happen this year.  Believe it or not, there is enough stuff to cover in a hunter safety course to fill 4 hours/night for 3 nights!  Who knew??????

I grew up in a house with few no guns.  Well, unless you count that b.b. gun.  I’m not even sure that’s how you spell b.b. gun.  That’s how little I know about guns.  I can’t even spell them.  Now, my hubby is looking at camo & deer stands and speaking a new language…50 caliber, 30 aught 6.  

We’ve been having a “discussion” about what to do if/when he bags a deer.  Of course, he’ll “field dress” it (see how I’m picking up on the lingo?!) and we’ll make “venison”.  He even knows some people I can talk to so I can prepare it in a way where it won’t taste “gamey”.  The controversial part is stuffing the head.

I have never understood that tradition.  Kill a deer, butcher it, cut its head off & display it in your home…sure, makes sense to me.  Growing up, my hubby would go over to a friend of his & go into the dad’s “room of death”.  The father was an avid hunter and they had a whole room devoted to his trophies.  A WHOLE ROOM!!  I went there once…creeped me out!!!!!  

Anyway, the discussion is whether or not to display the deer head on our wall.  Not just any wall…the wall in our living room.  The wall in the room where we entertain.  Where I spend about 95% of my time (when I’m home).  Where our children play, watch movies and do homework.  A dead deer…on the wall…in our living room.

It’s not like we don’t have other walls.  In his office.  At the church building.  10 miles away from our house.  I think a deer head hanging would look great in an office.  How about the garage????  That’s where his other manly things are kept…tools, workbench, lawn equipment, the cars.  Yes, I think those are great options!!

I’ve been told by other women who have husbands who also like to hang dead animals on their walls that this is a battle I will probably lose.  Maybe so, but I’m not going down without a fight!!  

So, I am preparing myself to become a “hunting widow” this fall.  I’m sure I won’t be the only one out there.  Maybe we could form a support group.  We could all meet together and find alternative place to hang dead animals in our homes.  Maybe we could give ideas on decorating them…hang Christmas lights on the antlers, hide Easter eggs between the antlers, display the American flag on the antlers on the Fourth of July…hey, this might not be so bad after all!

4 thoughts on “Bambi Doesn’t Live Here

  1. I think that if you decided to put a hat and maybe something “frilly or lacey” on it, he might decide he would rather hang it in his office!!! Maybe some long, long false eyelashes!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

