I’m Such A Loser

So, if you know me or have been reading my blog for a while, you know that I am a Leader for Weight Watchers.  My story started back in 1998.  After my freshman year in college, I had gained the “freshman fifteen” plus a few more.  I had been that girl who could eat whatever she wanted, and not really worry about weight gain.  Apparently, eating pizza at midnight & then maybe again for breakfast finally caught up with me.  

When I went home for the summer, my mom suggested I try Weight Watchers.  She told me that losing 20 pounds would be a lot easier than 50 or more.  So, I did something not too many college students do…I listened to my mom!!  I joined Weight Watchers that summer.

I remember walking into the meeting.  My mom was with me, so I felt a little better.  I wasn’t sure what to expect.  What I found was Kitty…the leader who had lost over 100 pounds and had kept it off for about 10 years (at that time).  Kitty was (is) great!!  She made the meetings fun.  She made us laugh & she inspired us.  At the end of the summer, I had lost 20.2 pounds and became a Lifetime Member.

Losing weight is not all that I accomplished that summer.  I learned a lot.  I learned how to eat properly.  I learned to value of exercise.  I learned that the hard work starts when you finish losing.  

That was 14 years ago.  Hard to believe it’s been that long.  I would love to tell you I have kept the weight since then.  But, I didn’t.  I was able to buy my wedding dress one year in advance & it had to be taken in, instead of let out!!  But, I got comfortable and quit going to my meetings.  The weight slowly crept back on.  I quit measuring my food, quit tracking the points.  I was a busy college student and quit exercising.  When my clothes started fitting tightly, I started back up again.  I lost those same 20 pounds again.

Then, I kept it off until I had my son Brayden.  Of course, you’re supposed to gain weight during pregnancy…and I did!  After I had him, I didn’t want to bother taking him to the meetings, so I decided to just do it on my own.  I had lost weight with WW twice before, so I figured I knew it all.  Well, that lasted for about 3 weeks.  My weigh in day would come & I would find some excuse not to weigh…”I’ll just weight tomorrow”.  Tomorrow never came.  So, I grabbed the diaper bag and took my son with me to the meetings.  Of course, he didn’t bother anyone…they loved seeing him!!

In 2007, I started working for Weight Watchers.  One fact not known to many is that everyone…I mean everyone who works for Weight Watchers is a member at Lifetime status…even the CEO.  We have to weigh in once a month, just like all of the other Lifetime members.  If our weight starts creeping up, we get notified and get help in losing that weight again.  I figured if that didn’t keep me accountable…nothing would!

In 2009, I had my daughter.  There’s that baby weight again.  This time around, I was confident that I would lose the weight, and I did.  It came off fast…almost embarrassingly fast, but I was back to pre-baby weight in no time.

I love helping my members reach their goals.  I have seen them lose anywhere from 10 pounds to 100 pounds.  I love that not only am I being healthy, I am teaching my family how to eat healthy.  When my son asks what I do at Weight Watchers, I don’t tell him I’m helping people lose weight, I tell him I’m helping them learn how to eat healthy.  That’s what Weight Watchers is all about…losing weight, eating healthy and making it a lasting weight loss.

With Weight Watchers, you don’t have to stop eating carbs.  You don’t have to quit eating sweets.  You don’t have to eat frozen boxed dinners that someone you’ve never met has shipped to you through the mail.  You make Weight Watchers fit you…your lifestyle.  This is something YOU can do for the rest of your life.

I love the newest commercials that have come out for Weight Watchers.  Jennifer Hudson talks about her belief in the program.  Believing that something works, that you can accomplish it is so important.  I’ve seen members come and go because they were there to lose weight, but they didn’t really think they could.  They found an excuse of why the program wasn’t working for them, and after a few months, I didn’t see them again.  You have to BELIEVE!!!!  Believe that you can do this.  Believe that you’re worth the time and effort it will take.  Believe that the program will work.

I never imagined that I would be a leader.  In my meetings, I would sit in the back & never say a word.  Now, I stand up 3 times a week in front of my members discuss topics that range from portion control to behavior changes to activity challenges.  

I’m extremely proud of getting out of my comfort zone.  What’s keeping you from getting out of yours?  Maybe you’ve been thinking about joining Weight Watchers.  Maybe you’re trying to figure out what to do.  You need to lose weight, but there are so many different programs out there, which do you choose??  Weight Watchers worked for me.  You may be thinking it might not work for you.  How will you ever know, unless you try???  What do you have to lose?  For more information, check out this link:

www.weightwatchers.com

 

One thought on “I’m Such A Loser

Leave a Reply

