So, I’m Not Julia Child

I’ve had a pretty crazy week so far.  I’m glad Monday is Labor Day.  We have no plans, which is refreshing!!  Maybe the kids will let me sleep in a little bit…like past 7:00!

Brayden’s school is really picking up.  He started having homework on Monday…every night.  Pair that with baseball practices and games & he’s been one busy boy.  Then, he came home with that packet that every parent loves to see…fundraisers!  I had to laugh a little bit.  Before, we’ve been raising money for a new playground, or maybe musical instruments for the Music class.  This year, the letter says we’re trying to raise $10,000 “to enhance our children’s learning experiences…”  Ummm…could you be a little more vague??

I haven’t posted in a few days.  I’m working with my brother on some exciting things that are going to be happening in the month of September for my blog.  I don’t want to give anything away, but it’s really cool!!!!  

Along with that, I’ve been working on Sophie’s birthday present.  She turns 3 later in the month (can’t believe it’s already September!!).  I’m attempting to put together a rag quilt, that I found of Pinterest of course!!  Here’s what I’ve been up to so far:

ImageYou are looking at over 400, 7 inch squares of flannel fabric.

ImageI have assembled them into 3 little sections.  Each section has a pink square (the bottom of the quilt), a purple square (the middle…taking the place of batting) and a print square (for the top).  Today, if the kids will play nicely together, I will sew a big “X” over each section.  Not too bad so far…I can cut squares & sew in straight lines 🙂

I did try a new recipe last Sunday night.  My hubby begged me not to do it.  I was experimenting on a new pie crust recipe & we had a dinner at church that night.  He thought I should try it out at home first, and if it worked out, then take it to a potluck.  Well, I was excited when I found it & just couldn’t wait!!  Perhaps, I got a little too excited…here’s the link to the recipe:

http://taste-for-adventure.tablespoon.com/2011/11/17/sweet-potato-pie-with-cinnamon-roll-crust/

So, what I did was take the pie crust recipe only.  Instead of making a sweet potato pie, I decided to make it an apple pie, since I had a can of apple pie filling already in my pantry.  So, I followed the pie crust recipe, added the apple pie filling and popped that baby into the oven.  When I took it out, here’s what it looked like:

ImageAs soon as I took it out of the oven, I realized something…I forgot the top!  In my excitement of the fancy new cinnamon roll pie crust, I neglected the top crust!  So, I weighed my options…I could throw it out, go to the store & get more crust & pie filling.  However, I only had about 1 hour until the dinner.  So, my next thought was “take it, maybe no one will notice”.  I went with that.  Then, my hubby came over and said “Is this your pie?  Where’s the top??”  So much for no one noticing!!  

Well, I swallowed my pride & took it anyway.  On the way there, we started making up names for the “pie”.  I liked the Topless Apple Pie.  Michael came up with the Apple Tostada Delight.  Whatever you call it, by the end of the night, I called it empty.  We didn’t bring one single slice home!!  

I did get a chance to taste a small bite of it.  I also asked some people sitting around me what they thought.  Overall, everyone liked it.  One person suggested I add more cinnamon.  When I made it, I didn’t exactly measure the cinnamon, like the recipe said, so she was probably correct in that.  Other than that, I think it’s a keeper…and next time I’ll remember the top!!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “So, I’m Not Julia Child

Leave a Reply

