Potty Training 101

There’s not a lot in life that can bring grown men and women to tears.  For guys, maybe their favorite team losing the Super Bowl, for women, it might be that new Hallmark commercial.  There is one thing can stop us dead in our tracks and bring us to our knees.

Potty Training

If you’re a parent of an older child, you know what I’m talking about!!  Coaxing your child to use the potty.  Bribing with M&M’s, stickers and movies.  Giving them crazy amounts of juice to encourage multiple trips to the potty chair.  Begging them to sit still.  Throwing cheerios into the toilet to help with “aiming”.  There is crying and sobbing involved…and the kids get upset too!!

This is the stage of life my family is in right now. Today was Day #1 of potty training my daughter.  She picked out big girl panties.  She chose some from the movie “Tangled”.  This led to us watching the movie while sitting on the potty…twice.  How did we do???  Potty chair: Zero…Wood floor: 3.  Thank goodness there isn’t a lick of carpet to be found in our house!!

I see tons of potty training help on Pinterest.  Some boast weekend potty training, potty training your kid in a day.  As a mom that has potty trained a boy before, I tend to have the green eyed monster stir when I read of people who potty train their 18 month old in 1 day.  

I think if someone started a business where they would come to your house and potty train your child for you, they could make a fortune!!!  Potty Train your kid in a week, or your money back!!  I would gladly pay for that 🙂

While potty training Sophie today, I was taken back to the potty training days of Brayden.  Now a 7 year old, he would probably be upset if he knew I was talking about this, but hey…7 year olds don’t read blogs!  

When he turned 2, I went out & bought a really cool potty chair.  It had lights, it had noises, it had sensors that detected when “something” happened.  Did my son make the connection between going potty and the rewards of music playing??  Did he get the simple cause & effect link??  Nope…he thought it was a toy.  He learned he could push certain buttons and things would light up and play music.  How can a 2 year old figure out how to make electronics operate within 15 minutes, but can’t seem to make it to the potty on time???

I pulled my hair out.  I cried.  I pleaded.  I begged.  I lamented to my husband that Brayden was going to be sent off to college with a box of Pampers loaded with his books and clothes.  So I tend to be a little over dramatic.  But that’s how I felt.

I think what it all boiled down to was Brayden wasn’t ready.  He was 2.  He was (is) a smart kid, but developmentally, he just wasn’t there.  Right before he turned 3, we moved, so I’m sure that didn’t help matters either.

I found this link on Pinterest the other day.  It’s one I wish I would have read before I started potty training with Brayden.

http://www.pottytrainingconcepts.com/CTGY/Potty-Training-Tips.html

Wow!!  The amount of information you find on this website is amazing!  Techniques, when to start potty training, articles, how to handle resistance, potty training for girls, potty training for boys, and on and on.  If you are at this stage in life, or will be there soon, I definitely recommend this website to answer many of your questions.  

So, I did NOT potty train my daughter in one day.  Time to get a good night’s rest, have a nice breakfast, take a deep breath & make sure my handy steam mop is nearby.  Round 2 starts in the morning.

Leave a Reply

