Chicken Spaghetti!

I was feeling very ambitious the other day & managed to make two brand new recipes in one meal.  The first one I shared with you all the other day…the stuffed portobello mushrooms with roasted tomatoes and goat cheese.  In keeping with the tomatoes, I thought I would fix another new recipe…Spaghetti in Garlic Gravy with Herbs and Lemon Marinated Chicken and Cherry Tomatoes.  Despite the long title, it is a pretty quick fix.  Here’s the link:

http://godofscrumprecipes.tumblr.com/post/21100317594/spaghetti-in-garlic-gravy-with-herbs-and-lemon

The recipe calls for you to marinate the chicken for at least 20 minutes to overnight.  I marinated mine for about 3-4 hours and the chicken had a nice lemony taste to it.  I felt very fancy chopping up all of the fresh herbs…which I never buy for our meals.  You don’t need a lot & I found out they’re not that expensive.  Of course, if you know someone with their own herb garden…you might want to sweet talk them out of a few 🙂

My hubby and kiddos really liked the meal.  I was told it was a keeper!!  It had a nice, light, garden fresh taste to it, which I would attribute to the cherry tomatoes and fresh herbs.

One mistake I made was with the gravy…I added the flour to the butter, then added the chicken stock.  After a few minutes, I saw that the gravy was not thickening as it should.  I stuck my pinky in the “flour” only to discover I had grabbed the wrong container and had added powdered sugar (which I always have an abundance of…since I make a few cakes!)  So, in true Tiffany fashion, I had to dump the whole thing (luckily I had not added the chicken or noodles to it yet) and started over.  It kind of frazzled me, so I don’t think I let it thicken up enough…oh well!  There’s always next time!!

If you’re looking for a nice light summer dish, this one would be great!!  I think you could also substitute shrimp for the chicken to give it a nice change.  Enjoy!  Happy eating!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

