There’s A Fungus Among Us

I’m a picky eater.  Ask anyone who knows me.  It gets a bit embarrassing sometimes…especially when ordering at a restaurant or going over to someone’s house to eat.  It’s probably easier to ask me what I would like to eat, instead of asking what I don’t like.  

I’ve never been a fan of mushrooms.  Well, let me rephrase that.  I’ve never liked mushrooms because I had never tried them.  Not sure why.  Maybe the fact that they are a fungus.  Maybe because they grow out under trees and some are poisonous.  For some reason, they just kind of creeped me out.

My hubby and I went to The Melting Pot for the first time last year.  We had never been before and it was kind of a big deal.  We had never spent that much money on one meal before either.  Also a big deal!!   I think my hubby was skeptical when they brought out the food.  How on earth could we get full on little pieces of bread & meat.  Of course, the kicker was when they brought out our main course.  We’re paying you how much & we have to cook our own food?!?!  Are you kidding??

Anyway, one thing that came with our main course was mushrooms.  Neither of us liked mushrooms, but we ate them, because we were paying for them!!  To my surprise, they were pretty good!!  Of course the cheese that you put in the tops & let melt helped a lot!

Since then, I’ve had mushrooms a few times, mostly at chinese restaurants where they cook them in front of you.  So, when I ran across this recipe on Pinterest, I thought I’d try it…why not??

http://afoodcentriclife.com/stuffed-portobello-mushrooms-with-roast-tomatoes-and-goat-cheese/

This is actually a double feature for recipes.  Within the recipe for the mushrooms, there’s a link to the recipe on how to make the roasted tomatoes.  Those could stand on their own or you could put them in other dishes….they are delicious!!

I found this recipe absolutely delicious!!  The flavors you get from it are amazing!  When you broil the mushrooms at first, it locks in the wonderful garlic lemon flavors.  Then, you add the sweetness of the roasted tomatoes with the creaminess of the goat cheese…YUM!!!  The best thing for me is this it is a very healthy dish.

Next time I make it, I may scale back a bit on the amounts of olive oil I use, because I felt there was a lot used in it.  The mushrooms are very filling and the tomatoes add a burst of freshness to the dish.  

I served it as a side dish, but if I were fixing a meal just for myself, I think I could fix this by itself and enjoy a wonderful meal.  My hubby took a small bite of the mushroom (he’s not a fan of goat cheese or tomatoes) and was surprised by the amount of flavor packed into the mushroom.  My son ate one and loved it (remember, he’s 7)!!  

I will definitely be making this recipe again and again!  Bon appetite!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “There’s A Fungus Among Us

Leave a Reply

