Keeping It Real

As you may have noticed from past posts, I am a Leader for Weight Watchers.  I joined Weight Watchers in 1998 & lost 20.2 pounds.  I always include that 0.2 in my total loss.  While it may seem insignificant to some, there were weeks when I was thrilled that I lost 0.2 pounds!!  I choose to look at it as a positive…at least I had lost and not gained!

Anyway, I would love to tell you that I’ve kept that 20.2 pounds off for the past 14 years (ouch!!  Has it really been that long????), but I can’t.  True, I’ve had 2 kids, so you would expect me to gain weight.  However, I can’t blame it all on the kids.  There are times where I get relaxed with my maintenance.  No…let’s make that lazy.  Yep, sometimes, I get lazy.  I quit tracking, I quit eating as healthy as I could and I quit exercising.  Even Weight Watchers leaders struggle with weight loss.  There…I said it…our secret’s out.

Which leads me to today’s blog…exercise.  I haven’t been doing it.  Unless, you consider chasing after a 2 1/2 year old, basic housework & walking all over Wal-Mart exercise, it hasn’t happened.  And it’s not because we’ve been really busy.  Nope.  Most evenings I just veg out.  I call it “relaxing”, but let’s call it what it really is…laziness.  

Image

I pinned this one not too long ago.  You know what they say about jokes…there’s an element of truth behind them.  Perhaps that’s why I found this one hilarious.

Every night, I walk by our dining room & look at the elliptical.  I think about changing into my workout clothes.  Then, I sit down and get “busy”, which normally means falling asleep in the recliner.  Tonight, I did something different.  I actually worked out on the elliptical.  My hubby had a friend over & they were busy with “guy talk” outside.  So, after the kiddos went to bed, I thought “why not???”  I huffed & puffed my way through 30 minutes and 1.5 miles.  After that, I decided to work on those abs (look how good I’m being!).  We’re almost finished with swimsuit season, but better late than never!  I remember seeing all of these ab workout pins on Pinterest, so I searched & found this one:

http://2012lastfatyear.blogspot.ca/2012/01/300-challenge-ab-core-workout.html

So, I settled myself down on some blankets and started working my way through the exercises.  I did all of themmost of them, some of them.  Whew!!  I’m getting tired just thinking about it!  While I didn’t finish all of the exercises, I did get through a majority of them.  They are definitely…um…challenging.  Want to hear something embarrassing??  After I finished the ab exercises, I was looking through my old pins on Pinterest…to see which project I need to do next.  What did I see??  The above pin was pinned on the same board…twice!!!!!  The sad thing is I pinned it & didn’t do a thing about it.  Tonight was the first time I had even sat down and looked at the pin.  

Well, I feel pretty good about myself right now.  I’ve done more exercising tonight than I’ve done in the whole month of July…combined.  Instead of thinking how I’ve wasted the whole summer, I’m going to concentrate on what’s left of the summer and work towards being more active.

My goals are to workout on the elliptical at least 3 times this week & to do the ab routine every day.  Maybe, after a while, I will actually be able to make it through all of the routines!!  If I can, I will have done 300 ab crunches!!  300!!!!  In one setting!!!!!  Imagine that!

Thanks for suffering through my confession time.  My hope is that by putting this “out there”, I will be more likely to stick with my goals.  If dozens of people read this, even if I don’t know who you are, maybe just by you reading this will keep me accountable.  

I’d also like to thank my sister-in-law for motivating me.  She joined Weight Watchers after the first of the year and has lost over 50 pounds.  She is 1 pound from her goal (I’m sure she’ll reach it this week).  She has ran in a 5K recently, bought skinny jeans and is inspiring others around her to live a healthier lifestyle.  I see how well she is doing, how active she is and that makes me want to do better job than I’m doing right now.  

Every so often, I plan on updating my exercise progress.  Maybe this time next week, those ab workouts won’t be sooooo difficult to get through 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

