Winner Winner, Chicken Dinner

I had to use that title, in honor of my hubby.  He always says stuff like that…”Good luck pot luck” is another favorite 🙂

Well, here’s another chicken recipe.  It’s actually a great one, because not only do you get a recipe for the main entree, but you also get a couple of side dishes as well!!  Here’s the link:

http://maggiesbites.tumblr.com/post/26365768602/balsamic-chicken-asparagus

I’m always up for a new chicken recipe.  We eat chicken for a majority of our meals.  I love it because it’s so versatile and healthy…as long as you don’t smother it in bad stuff or fry it up.

ImageYummy!!!!!!  Bet you wish you ate at our house tonight 🙂

I pretty much followed the recipe as it was written on the website.  I had it marinating for about 7 hours or so…I like marinade!!  I got my guinea pigs…er…my family to try it.  My son thinks he doesn’t like vinegar of any kind, so I just told him the chicken was marinated in “sauce”.  When my hubby took the first bite of chicken, he said “Wow!”  I asked if that was good or bad, and he said “I’m still deciding”…Uh oh!

The verdict??  My hubby felt like the chicken was a little too “balsamic-ey”.  I like balsamic, however, I think next time I make this (yep…it’s a keeper!), I’ll cut the amount of balsamic vinegar I use to marinate the chicken in down to 1/8 of a cup.

My son LOVED the asparagus.  Now, you don’t do a lot to the asparagus…basically roast it in the oven with a little bit of olive oil and salt.  I was impressed that a 7 year old was digging the asparagus!!  Yay for a new veggie 🙂

My favorite had to be the grape tomatoes cooked in the balsamic vinegar with mozzarella cheese on it.  The vinegar gave the tomatoes a sweet flavor and the cheese slowly melted over the tomatoes while I was eating my chicken.  To quote Rachel Ray…”Yum-o!”.

If you’re on the Weight Watchers Points Plus program, I cut the 2 chicken breasts in half long ways (they were really thick!).  That way, the recipe served 4 instead of 2.  I also didn’t use 4 ounces of mozzarella cheese…I used about 2 ounces.  The chicken dish was 7 PPV & the roasted asparagus & tomatoes sides came out to 3 PPV total.  It’s hard to tell if the chicken would really be 7 PPV, because a lot of the oil stays in the ziploc bag that it marinated in, but go ahead and count it…it’s worth it!!!!  Believe me…the meal was very filling, so 10 PPV was a bargain!

Trying new recipes can be intimidating…but they’re also a lot of fun & sometimes you discover a new favorite!! Bon appetit 🙂

Leave a Reply

