Organization Eludes Me

As a rule, I am not an organized person.  My house could probably be described by some as “cluttered”.  I prefer to use the phrase “lived in”.  We LIVE in our house.  Of course, if we have friends coming over, I go through the frantic, “put everything in your closets & close the door to our bedroom” rush.  Sometimes, I go on a cleaning streak, but most of the time I’m lucky that the dishwasher gets ran & the laundry gets washed, sometimes dried, and on the most rare occasion…folded/put away.

However, I aspire to be organized.  I love pinning organizational tips on Pinterest.  I have many books on my Kindle about how to be organized.  I have good intentions 🙂  Really.  One of these days I might even read one of those books!

I found this Pin on Pinterest and it was a like a match made in organization heaven.  Here was a project that I could sew and start my quest for a more organized house.

 http://www.positivelysplendid.com/2011/02/lets-make-something-together-lined.html

One thing we don’t have a shortage on right now is diapers.  My almost 3 year old shows a minimal interest in potty training & to be honest, I’m not rushing it.  Don’t get me wrong…I don’t enjoy changing diapers or shelling out the big bucks for them.  Far from it.  My daughter is very strong willed, stubborn and if something is not her idea, well, she’s just not going to do it.  So, I’m just waiting to see when she decides that maybe this potty training thing isn’t such a bad idea.

When I found this project, I already had about 5 diaper boxes that I had put away.  I didn’t know what I was going to use them for, but they’re nice & sturdy and I couldn’t bring myself to throw them away.  I love the canvas baskets at the store, but when they cost $10 or more, it just wasn’t very economical to get them.  For a fraction of what 5 canvas boxes would cost at the store, I could make this project for pennies on the dollar.

So, I went to one of our only fabric stores in town…Wal-Mart.  So sad :(.  Now, don’t get me wrong…Wal-Mart is great for groceries, band-aids, cards, but fabric is not something I put high on the “gotta get at Wal-Mart” list…or so I thought.  I actually found some cute fabric while I was there, although there’s not a huge selection.

While at Wal-Mart, I picked the brain of the sweet fabric cutting lady…Betty.  I tried explaining the project to her, then figured it was easier to show her, so I pulled out the iPhone.  What did I do before the iPhone???  Anyway, she helped me figure out how much fabric I needed…she was very patient!!

In the link above, the author of the blog uses a tutorial on making the basket liners.  I’m not a very experienced sewer, so I found the instructions kind of confusing.  I’m sure the seasoned seamstress would have no problems following it, but I do better if I can watch something the first time around.  Thank goodness for Youtube.  What did I do before YouTube??  Seriously?  I found this tutorial & it was super easy, super fast & most importantly, it worked!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9hTiqc1anE

ImageHere is a completed box.  Now, if I were to do this again, I would get a darker canvas to cover the box in.  If you look closely, you can see through the material.  I didn’t mind so much, because I figured it was my first time around, and I can always change it later.  Plus, where I put them, you can’t really tell.

ImageHere’s the inside of the basket.  See..super cute fabric!!!

After I made the boxes, I then had to figure out where to put them.  We have a really weird set up in our living room where we keep our DVDs.  

ImageI was never really crazy about the space, but at least you can’t see it when you walk in the door.  Of course, when the kids get into it, it’s hard to keep it clean and organized.  And, as you can see, we have a lot of DVDs…and most are animated…thanks to the kiddos :).  So, I figured the DVDs were a perfect size to fit in the boxes and the boxes fit nicely in the shelves…sooooo…

Tada!!!!

ImageOrganization!!!  In my house!!!!  It actually inspired me to clean up the other shelves and go through a lot of the junk that just kind of got thrown there.  

I spent about 2-3 days on these boxes.  This was, of course, on my “off” time (i.e. kids naps, bedtime, etc).  I don’t remember how much fabric I had left over, but I really had a ton left, so I would estimate each box cost about $3-$4 to make…if that much.  Plus, this is a great way to repurpose those diaper boxes.  

If you don’t have diaper boxes…maybe you’re one of those lucky people who have actually potty trained your kids, I’m sure a different box would work…or ask your friends, a neighbor perhaps, if they have those boxes you could have.  I have about 2 or 3 more stashed, so I will probably make some for the kids rooms, to keep their toys or books in.

Bottom line:  Great project to make!!  It covers many areas…repurposing, organization, cleaning, and sewing!  In my opinion…a great project to take on over the weekend!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

