You did what???

We moved into our house 5 days before my daughter was born and 3 days before my mom & grandma came to help out.  Guess what they got to do??  Yep, help us unpack.  By the time I got out of the hospital, my mom had lived in my house either the same amount of time as I had…or maybe a day or 2 longer 🙂  I would NOT recommend moving while 9 months pregnant, but everything turned out ok.

One thing they did while I was in the hospital was to organize my son’s room, which was a tremendous help.  Over the almost 3 years we’ve lived here, things have pretty much stayed the way they put them.  While we don’t have a lot of closet space for the house (i.e. linen closets in the bathrooms, hall closets for coats, etc), the closets in our bedroom are pretty large & have nice storage space in them.

That being said…we still have a lot of “stuff” and I’m always looking for ways to make the kiddos bedrooms look cute & functional.

I found this project on Pinterest and fell in love.  At first, I wasn’t sure how to utilize it in our home, but I quickly came up with an idea…and enlisted my hubby’s help 🙂

http://stylewithcents.blogspot.com/2011/12/table-for-five.html

We didn’t put the shelf in the dining room, although I think it would be really cute!  We put a smaller version under the window sill of each kids bedroom.

Image

A couple of things we did differently: 

Instead of buying a pre-made shelf, my hubby picked up a sheet of MDF at our local Lowe’s store.  It ran about $30, but we only used half of it to make 2 shelves (so about $7.50 in wood/shelf) and he used the rest in his wood shop, so it was a win/win situation. 

We also bought the cheaper supports for underneath the shelf.  The decorative ones were nice, but cost around $3-$4, so we went with the metal ones that were a little over $1 a piece.  So, each shelf probably cost about $12 or so. 

Image

We had leftover paint from when we painted the kids rooms, so we just painted them to match the walls.  If you wanted to get really creative, you could paint them a contrasting color, but I wasn’t feeling it 🙂  The MDF took the paint very well, so no need to prime!!  Plus, did you know that paint is still good after 2 1/2 years???  I was stoked when I discovered the paint was usable!!

Image

My daughter calls this her “workbench”…her daddy just built one of his own.  She loves it!!  One day, when my son was sick & I was having to take care of him, she played on/with that shelf for probably 30-45 minutes…and she’s 2 1/2!!!  I have visions of my son using it to work on homework when school starts. 

I love it because they can sit at the bench and look outside.  It also gets some toys up off the floor.  We used wall anchors & tried to attach the shelf to the wall studs when we could find them.  It is very secure, although I would discourage sitting on it!

From cutting to painting to installing, this project took us about 3 days or so.  We didn’t work on it continuously…so don’t get worried.  You could easily knock this out in 1 or 2 days, especially if you used a pre-made shelf.

My opinion:  For the time involved, skill level and costs, I would say this is a great weekend project that not only dresses up a room, but makes it a bit more functional!!  I think it’s a great addition to any kids room or playroom.  If you have the space, why not try it as a kids counter in your dining room???

Leave a Reply

