Friends & Food

So, before I start this blog, there was something I tried from Pinterest that did not work.  I found this:

http://diyhshp.blogspot.com/2011/10/did-you-know.html

Now, I will preface this by saying I haven’t tried all of the DIY ideas on this website, but I did try the one where you put a wooden spoon across a pot of boiling water.  Supposedly, it keeps the water from boiling over.  So, while making my kids Mac & Cheese for lunch today (I know…I’m a gourmet!!), I tried it.  Well, unfortunately for me & my stove, it did not work, and I had noodle water all over the place.  Oh well.  Some of the other ideas look really good on the website, so we’ll see 🙂

Last night, my family went over to a friends house for dinner.  We had a great time!  They have kids around my daughter’s age and they all love playing together.  We even took our PVC sprinkler over for the kiddos to play in.  Good times.

Image

Where I’m from, if someone invites you over for dinner, the next words out of your mouth should be “Sure!  What can I bring??”  So, of course that’s what I immediately said when we were invited over.  I was assigned bread.  Now, I was tempted to just stop by the grocery store on our way to their house and grab a loaf from the bakery. However, I found a recipe on Pinterest for Sweet Hawaiian Bread.  The fact that it used pineapple juice in the recipe had me intrigued.

http://www.food.com/recipe/sweet-hawaiian-yeast-bread-bread-machine-94674/photo

I made my bread in the oven, but the recipe actually calls for it to be made in a bread machine.  Why did you bake it in the oven, you ask??  Well, I didn’t want to dig around in my appliance graveyard to unearth the bread machine…pure laziness.  

Instead of making a loaf, I decided to make rolls.  The recipe made about 12 rolls, which I thought would be plenty for my family, our host family & another family who also joined us.  Food, friends & carbs…you can’t lose!!

The verdict?  While making them in the bread machine would be much quicker, it was fairly simple to bake them in the oven.  The rolls turned out a bit heavy, but that’s not a shocker to me, because most of my rolls seem to turn out on the heavy side.  Luckily, my hubby likes a denser roll.  While they weren’t as sweet as the King’s Hawaiian Rolls I grew up on, they were a touch sweet & really enjoyable.  Everyone seemed to really like them.  How could I tell??  Because I brought an empty platter home.  Always a good sign if you have no leftovers!!!  

I will definitely be making this bread again.  Maybe next time I’ll try the bread machine…if I can find it!!!

2 thoughts on “Friends & Food

Leave a Reply

