Garage Sales & T-Shirts

This weekend, my family had a garage sale.  Like most Americans, over the years, we collect stuff.  To many, it’s junk, but to us, it’s treasures.  I don’t consider myself a hoarder.  I don’t even like to watch those TV shows about people who hoard.  It makes me nervous and then I usually start going through the house, cleaning and throwing stuff away.  However, after going through some of our treasures, I could see how people can become hoarders.  After crying over a stuffed bear that used to play music and had cheeks that used to light up, I got it.  My mother-in-law had given that bear to my son after he was born. I don’t know if it was the music or the lights, but that bear was the only thing that would calm our son down in the middle of the night.  In fact, we were afraid we would wear it out, so we went to the store & bought another!  Just in case…

Anyway, my husband asked why I was selling it.  Between sobs, I think I managed “because we’re having a garage sale”.  He proceeded to talk me in to keeping it…what a sweetie!!  I guess we can hoard just a few items…those precious things that store lovely memories.

Image

So, while I haven’t had the chance to try a new Pinterest project in the past few days, I did try one about 1 month ago…and this one did not go as well as I would have liked.  I’m not sure if it was the instructions or me that went wrong.  All I know is, it wasn’t pretty 🙂

The project was from a woman who turned her husband’s large t-shirt into a cute, girly fitted t-shirt that she could sport around.  The idea is a great one!!  How many times do you go somewhere & get the free t-shirt…yay free clothes!!  Boo…XLG size!  I’m not super petite, but XLG just doesn’t work.  So, the t-shirt gets thrown to the side, never to be worn, or maybe you wear it while painting or gardening.  Plus, if you can wear your hubby’s t-shirts…your wardrobe just double instantly 🙂

I immediately said those lovely words that make my hubby groan now “Hey honey!  I found a project on Pinterest…*insert groan here*…can I cut up one of your t-shirts?”

Here’s the link to the project:

http://connectthedotsons.blogspot.com/2011/03/diy-husbands-large-t-shirt-to-fitted.html

I followed the directions.  I spent about 2 hours knotting up the little fringes on the t-shirt…I think I may have developed arthritis…the result???  Umm…couldn’t get the shirt on, or at least past my head!!  It was now too small!!  Frustrated, I just tossed the t-shirt aside.  Where did I go wrong??  Not sure.  The directions are a bit vague.  I wasn’t sure how far to cut in on the sides of the shirt.  I did tie the knots pretty tight…I mean, I went through 2 painstaking hours of knotting them, I was going to make sure they stayed!!  Maybe it was a combination of both, I don’t know.  

So, now, instead of turning my hubby’s larger than life t-shirts into a cute fitted t-shirt, I supposed I will just throw them aside until I need to paint something…hmmm….actually, I think I have a Pinterest project that involves painting…Oh honey!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

