Pillow Case Dress

One thing I have recently decided I like to do is sew.  My sewing comes in spurts.  In 9th grade, I took Home Ec…do they even teach that in school anymore??  Anyway, in 9th grade,  I remember making an apron and pizza from scratch.  I’m sure we did other things, but that’s all I remember.  In fact, I still have the apron I made…and I even use it from time to time.  It looks a little sad, all worn and faded, but hey, I’m a little worn an faded too 🙂  After 9th grade, I made purses for everyone for Christmas one year.  I think I was about 25ish…so there you go.  Spurts.  

My latest spurt came when my in-laws came to visit us.  We live in Virginia and they live in Oklahoma.  When our family comes to visit, it’s a nice healthy visit…usually about 1 1/2 weeks – 2 weeks, which makes sense, because it’s a good solid 2 days here and 2 days back (if you drive).  Anyway, one of the fun projects my hubby had planned with his dad was for them to build adirondack chairs.Image

Not to be out done, my mother-in-law and I decided we needed a project (besides cooking for 2 hungry woodworkers).  So, we decided to tackle a Pinterest project I had found about 1 year ago, but never had the nerve to try it on my own…make my daughter a Pillow Case Dress.  I found the instructions here:

http://asmallsnippet.blogspot.com/search/label/gift

(Scroll all the way to the bottom to find the Pillow Case Dress instructions).  I actually started following this blog.  She has lots of really cute ideas, from clean eating to birthday party games, decorations & favors.  She is also a gifted photographer & her kiddos are super cute!!

Instead of using an actual pillowcase, my mother-in-law taught me how to make a tube pillow case.  There is a great video tutorial on YouTube.  You can find it here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MrYWCma9wgM

The tutorial is for a regular size pillow case.  My 2 1/2 year old daughter is a bit smaller than your actual pillow case, so I just measured her instead…but the concept on how to make the pillowcase is the same.  One note, we messed up a bit on the first pillowcase.  The cuff at the bottom was about half the width we wanted it, so it made it a bit tricky to pull it through the tube, but we eventually got it.  I made a second one later & made the cuff the correct width & it worked out perfectly.  Here is our first one:

Image

Here’s my cutie pie in it (not wanting to have her picture taken):Image

A couple of things I did:  I switched out the ribbon later.  I found a cuter ribbon that really makes the dress.  To keep the ends of the ribbon from unraveling, I took a lighter & singed (is that how you spell it??) the ends a bit.  Presto!!  No unraveling!!  Also, each time I wash the dress, I take the ribbon out.  I realize this may be an unneeded step, but I feel like it will help extend the life of the ribbon.  

Later on, I was at Wal-Mart & found some really cute patriotic fabric.  Since it was getting close to the 4th of July & my daughter didn’t have anything to wear, I made her another dress…all by myself 🙂

Image

I made the bottom cuff a little wider, which helped out so much!!

Image

You can’t tell by the pictures, but my cutie pie really loves the dresses!  They are cool, comfortable & they wash very well.  

I would say this project is very much worth the time, cost & effort you would put in it.  I figured each dress cost about $4-$5…depending on the cost of the ribbon.  The 2nd one took me about 1 1/2-2 hours to make, from cutting fabric out to finished product.  I was recently at a 4th of July celebration in town & someone was selling the same type of dresses for $24 with matching bow!!  The thing I really like is I can pick out the fabrics I want & that’s where you can get really creative.

My only regret is that I can’t make one for myself.  I’m not sure a grown adult can pull off a pillow case dress as well as a cute 2 1/2 year old…maybe some day…

Leave a Reply

