Chicken…it’s what’s for dinner

Not only am I a Domestic Engineer, I also lead Weight Watchers meetings 3 times a week. I love helping people learn how to eat healthy & lose weight. It is truly a job that is rewarding. One thing I’ve learned over my years in Weight Watchers is that chicken is filling, low in points, and easy to cook. Another thing I’ve learned, there are about a million ways to prepare it.

I found a pin on Pinterest that has several “Dump Chicken” recipes. The idea is that you prepare chicken in freezer bags with different marinades & then they’re ready to cook at a moments notice. You can also prepare them from fresh, which is what I did tonight.

Here’s the link: http://whenthedinnerbellrings.blogspot.com/2011/06/super-easy-way-to-getting-meals-ready.html

I made the Garlic Dijon Dump Chicken. Here’s the recipe:

2 Cloves Garlic — minced
4 Tablespoons Dijon Mustard
2 Tablespoons Lime Juice
1 1/2 Pounds Chicken Pieces

For immediate cooking: Pre-heat oven to 350 F. Place all ingredients into a
large baking dish, turn chicken to coat. Bake until chicken juices run
clear (45-60 minutes for chicken pieces, or 20-30 minutes for chicken
breasts).

For freezing: Place all ingredients into a 1 Gallon freezer bag. Lay flat
in freezer.

To thaw and cook: Take the bag out of the freezer the night before, make
sure the baggie is completely closed. Place the Bag on a shelf furthest
from the freezer (It works best if the bag is laying flat, although this
may not be the best option with a side-by-side fridge/freezer). Preheat the
oven to 350 F. Empty the contents of the bag into a large baking dish and
bake until the juices run clear (45-60 minutes for chicken pieces, or 20-30
minutes for chicken breasts).

Per serving: 177 Calories (kcal); 12g Total Fat; (62% calories from fat); 15g Protein; 2g Carbohydrate; 70mg Cholesterol; 180mg Sodium
Food Exchanges: 0 Grain(Starch); 2 Lean Meat; 0 Vegetable; 0 Fruit; 1 Fat; 0 Other Carbohydrates

My hubby kept telling me how good it was. My son (keep in mind he’s 7), ate it up & said it was the best chicken he’s had!! I think you score big points when the hubby & kiddos like what you fix…especially if it’s new!!

My opinion is: Super easy. I think it probably took me about 5 minutes to mix everything together & put in a freezer bag. I marinated it about 3-4 hours before I baked it, but I’m sure it would be equally good if it marinated overnight. I love anything with garlic, so that was a plus for me. The dijon & lime juice gave it a nice kick. I served the chicken with garlic & herb roasted red potatoes and quinoa. A very filling and yummy dinner!! For those of you who are interested, the Points Plus Value is 5 PPV/chicken breast. I used the nutrition info listed above to figure this out (assuming that the fiber was 0 g, since it wasn’t listed). Those with eTools know you can plug this into the recipe builder and will get a more accurate calculation.

I’m hoping to try more of these dump recipes. I think they would probably work well in the crock pot…for those busy days when you have just enough time to “dump” something in there 🙂 I think you could also move them out to the grill, for a nice summer cook out.

So, feel free to check these recipes out. This picky mom gives them 2 enthusiastic thumbs up!!!

20120710-190906.jpg

Leave a Reply

