Easy Peasy Biscuits

Well, my blog has been kind of quiet the past week or so.  I haven’t been too crafty lately.  I’m gearing up for my son’s big 8th birthday, coming up this weekend.  I’ve been busy researching Phineas & Ferb cakes.  Of course, I’ll be blogging about the party after Saturday.

So, last weekend, we had some friends over for dinner.  For some reason, I tried not one, but two brand new recipes that night.  The first one was venison stew.  This was the first time I had ever made stew….I know!  How did I survive 12 years of marriage without ever making stew?

My second new recipe was something my hubby tried at a friends house.  After he and a buddy and his buddy’s father went hunting, they went back to his friend’s parents house.  They arrived just in time for dinner & the mom insisted that my hubby stay for a quick bite.  One of the things she was serving was Mayo Biscuits.  

Sounds weird right?  Well, my hubby raved about them, so much that I felt I needed to make them.  So, I got the recipe and tried them out.  Here it is:

4 Tablespoons mayonaise

2 c. self rising flour

1 c. milk

Mix ingredients.  Grease a muffin pan.  Put dough in pan.  Bake at 375 until brown (about 12 minutes).

That’s it.  Hard to mess up a recipe with 3 ingredients right?  Well…you haven’t cooked with me then :).  About 30 minutes before our friends were going to arrive, I started working on the biscuits.  I discovered I only had bread flour.  Flour is flour, right?  WRONG!

The biscuits didn’t rise (obviously) and they were…um…dense.  So, I served our guests flat, dense biscuits.  However, we didn’t have any left, so it wasn’t a total waste!

I tried it again tonight, with the proper flour and it was a much different story.  The biscuits rose, they were light and fluffy.  The mayo makes them very moist.  It cost pennies to make and my kiddos were asking for more.

So, check your pantry…make sure you have self-rising flour & try these out.  If you don’t have self-rising flour, run…don’t walk…to the grocery store and get some!!  

2 Comments

  1. I wonder if if you can use greek yogurt instead of mayo?

    • Probably…good idea!! I used light mayo & it worked great too :). I’m sure you could use skim milk to make it even lighter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

